Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2008, 08:09 PM
Atomic41's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 7
Default 4gb Of Ram ???

Hi,

I am tempted to go to 4GB of memory because when I play and I am doing something else at the same time I spend at 1.4 gb of memory used when I want to purchase such additional 2GB.

BUT ...

I see that XP 32-Bit I installed now, but will never see the full 4 GB so I ask if I am doing a good deal .. Or should I install Windows Vista recognize him as smoothly my 4GB

In your opinion what should I do?
__________________
-=FrogQc=- AtoM!c
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2008, 08:12 PM
Synth's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa-Hull
Posts: 688
Default

3 to 3.25gb of memory is still better than 2gb IMO, especially for the low ddr2 prices right now...!

Go for it
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2008, 08:28 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,582
Default

The performance from 2-3gb is so negligible its not worth it.

Either run 2gb or 4gb.

4gb and more requires 64bit OS.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2008, 10:00 PM
t0m's Avatar
t0m t0m is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: bc
Posts: 292

My System Specs

Default

dont forget about xp64 if you want to go 64bit but not use vista.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2008, 10:20 PM
mr_plow_king's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: St-Hubert, Qc
Posts: 73

My System Specs

Default

Also, make sure your board will support 4 GB. I tried installing 4 GB ( 4 X 1 GB ) on an Asus P5B ( chipset 965 ). The bios will only detect 3008MB of ram and it caused random BSODs in Windows XP 64 and 32
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2008, 10:48 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,582
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_plow_king View Post
Also, make sure your board will support 4 GB. I tried installing 4 GB ( 4 X 1 GB ) on an Asus P5B ( chipset 965 ). The bios will only detect 3008MB of ram and it caused random BSODs in Windows XP 64 and 32
Memory Remap should have been turned on as I'm 90% sure thats in the bios.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2008, 08:21 AM
Synth's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa-Hull
Posts: 688
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
The performance from 2-3gb is so negligible its not worth it.

Either run 2gb or 4gb.

4gb and more requires 64bit OS.
Well, gaming benefits from the extra 1.25gb, for me. And XP is definately snappier. I don't know why you say the difference is "negligible"...
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2008, 12:12 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,726
Default

I just installed XP 64bit last night on my machine, sees all 4GB, and just opening simple things like "Add or remove programs" and such seem much faster. I have yet to install any games, but it is feeling good! Thinking of getting another 4GB kit...still a few days of that sale....
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2008, 12:48 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,582
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Synth View Post
Well, gaming benefits from the extra 1.25gb, for me. And XP is definately snappier. I don't know why you say the difference is "negligible"...
Its really more of a mind over matter thing that seems thing to be faster :)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cptn Vortex View Post
I just installed XP 64bit last night on my machine, sees all 4GB, and just opening simple things like "Add or remove programs" and such seem much faster. I have yet to install any games, but it is feeling good! Thinking of getting another 4GB kit...still a few days of that sale....
I've been running XP 64 for about a month and a bit now and everything seems MUCH snappier than XP 32 for some odd reason so I'm hoping Team Xtreem gets back to me otherwise I'll be buying new ram and going for more than 4gb probably like 6 or 8.

But I've been VERY happy with XP 64
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2008, 12:54 PM
Synth's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa-Hull
Posts: 688
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cptn Vortex View Post
I just installed XP 64bit last night on my machine, sees all 4GB, and just opening simple things like "Add or remove programs" and such seem much faster. I have yet to install any games, but it is feeling good! Thinking of getting another 4GB kit...still a few days of that sale....
I wonder how bad 8gigs of ram hinders overclocking

Hope you mobo can supply that much voltage, and poor northbridge ...!
__________________

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes