Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2010, 02:06 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 147

My System Specs

Exclamation RAM memory. Right or wrong?(Still not solved!!)

Hello,

I have an OCZ Reaper 6GB(3x2GB) DDR3 PC3-16000, 2000MHz CL9 memory(OCZ3RPR2000LV6GK)
But it won't run @2000MHz??
I tried some stuff, but my BIOS won't have me choose 2000MHz.
My specs:


What it shows as RAM



And CPU-z



Am I doing it right or wrong? Is it good like this, or not.
Any help ?
Thanks

(I'm new here and this is the right section 2 post right?)

Last edited by BFighter; December 28, 2010 at 02:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2010, 03:11 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

It's totally right. The reason why she is running at this speed is simply that your bios is putting it on auto to a mutli near your CPU one. Most of the time it will be 1333 but your board seems to love the 1600. You can set it in bios manually to run at 2000 if you are a bit used to do this but it wont do any difference in performance, unless you OC a lot.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2010, 03:31 PM
3oh6's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,052
Default

In order to run 1000MHz or DDR3-2000 with Bloomfield, you can run:

2:14 (AKA 1866) memory ratio at 143BCLK
2:12 (AKA 1600) memory ratio at 166BCLK
2:10 (AKA 1333) memory ratio at 200BCLK
2:8 (AKA 1066) memory ratio at 250BLCK

These all have to manually be set as that kit does not have XMP profiles. Right now, your memory ratio is set to 2:8 (AKA 1066) at 145BLCK. I don't know how ASUS labels its BIOS so I am listing either term that might be used.

If you raise the memory ratio to 2:14/1866, you will be in business. You will also have to manually adjust the memory timings for what the memory is rated for at 1000MHz/DDR3-2000 as well as vDIMM for memory voltage, and VTT (ASUS still calls this QPI Voltage I believe). Generally speaking, to run DDR3-2000, you are looking at anywhere from 1.35v ~ 1.45v for VTT voltage.

There is also the chance that the uncore ratio doesn't automatically increase with the memory ratio. Uncore has to be 2 x memory ratio. So on the 2:14/1866 ratio, your uncore multiplier needs to be at 28X. For 2:12/1600, uncore has to be at 24x, and for 2:10/1333, uncore has to be at 20X.

HTH
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2010, 05:48 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Vancouver (GVR)
Posts: 27

My System Specs

Default

Ya a lot of memory by default setting, even it sold as a PC3-12800 at 1600 but when you install it automatically runs at 1333Mhz. Just do a little twist on BIOS should be able to change it back to 1600Mhz. Or check if see you could enable XMP for your memory. Most of the motherboard, when you change to XMP, will automatically adjust the RAM voltage for you.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 28, 2010, 06:53 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 147

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3oh6 View Post
In order to run 1000MHz or DDR3-2000 with Bloomfield, you can run:

2:14 (AKA 1866) memory ratio at 143BCLK
2:12 (AKA 1600) memory ratio at 166BCLK
2:10 (AKA 1333) memory ratio at 200BCLK
2:8 (AKA 1066) memory ratio at 250BLCK

These all have to manually be set as that kit does not have XMP profiles. Right now, your memory ratio is set to 2:8 (AKA 1066) at 145BLCK. I don't know how ASUS labels its BIOS so I am listing either term that might be used.

If you raise the memory ratio to 2:14/1866, you will be in business. You will also have to manually adjust the memory timings for what the memory is rated for at 1000MHz/DDR3-2000 as well as vDIMM for memory voltage, and VTT (ASUS still calls this QPI Voltage I believe). Generally speaking, to run DDR3-2000, you are looking at anywhere from 1.35v ~ 1.45v for VTT voltage.

There is also the chance that the uncore ratio doesn't automatically increase with the memory ratio. Uncore has to be 2 x memory ratio. So on the 2:14/1866 ratio, your uncore multiplier needs to be at 28X. For 2:12/1600, uncore has to be at 24x, and for 2:10/1333, uncore has to be at 20X.

HTH
So I can't run it at it's full 2000MHz?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2010, 01:47 PM
3oh6's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,052
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BFighter View Post
So I can't run it at it's full 2000MHz?
yes, but you have to adjust the BCLK as i outlined in my first post. what BCLK the easiest should be 2:14/1866 memory ratio and a 143BCLK.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2010, 02:41 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 147

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3oh6 View Post
yes, but you have to adjust the BCLK as i outlined in my first post. what BCLK the easiest should be 2:14/1866 memory ratio and a 143BCLK.
It crashes at 2005 MHz and at 1992mhz, and 1866....
But 143 bclk means overclocked CPU too.. Now its 133
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2010, 03:44 PM
3oh6's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,052
Default

yes, 143BCLK means an overclocked CPU. you may have to compensate with increased vCORE for CPU and definitely will need to raise VTT(QPI voltage) to likely 1.35v~1.40v or more, to compensate for the increased load on the memory controller.

increasing both of those voltages will increase CPU temps.

You may also have to set vDIMM to 1.65v or whatever the kit is rated for.

running memory at DDR3-2000 isn't a plug and play type of setup. it involves understanding the basics of overclocking a system and being able to find the optimal setup. some people get lucky with exceptional CPU's that don't need a whole lot of adjusting. some DDR3-2000 kits have solid XMP profiles that take care of everything.

in the end, memory clocks mean absolutely nothing when it comes to performance.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2010, 12:39 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: montreal, canada
Posts: 29
Default

Have you tried to up the qpi/dram votage?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
ram problem help

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
memory or mobo problem kanganova Troubleshooting 8 January 26, 2010 04:17 PM
780i bios/memory problem dukelod Troubleshooting 6 December 31, 2009 03:48 PM
p5q-e + patriot memory problem Finch RAM 74 November 13, 2008 04:05 PM
Memory problem with new build francois methot CPU's and Motherboards 10 July 23, 2007 10:50 AM
...is it a memory problem? francois methot Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 9 March 24, 2007 12:33 AM