Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 25, 2010, 12:04 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9
Default which ram to get confused

planning get some cheap ram for my sandy bridge build


Kingston HyperX KHX1600C9D3K2/4GX 4GB 2X2GB DDR3-1600 CL9 Intel XMP $39.99
or
Mushkin Enhanced Silverline Stiletto 8GB 2X4GB PC3-10666 DDR3-1333 9-9-9-24 $69.99
or
Patriot Extreme Performance Sector 5 G Series DDR3 8GB (2 x 4GB) PC3-10666 9-9-9-24 $64.99

plan to Overclock like mad, which one would you guys choose?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 25, 2010, 12:27 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

it all depends on your motherboard, some kits play nicer with some mobos etc.

before an item is in the wild in enough volumes to have a solid user base, thus reviews, experience, one cant tell much before hand :)

usually, the bigger the sticks, the harder to clock. usually. also sb is supposed to be dual channel, but some mobos can run dual with mismatched sticks
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 25, 2010, 12:42 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9
Default

so should i just get the RAM when sandy bridge officially releases?

and these rated speed doesn't matter much right you can always OC from 1333 to 1600?

i have only seen gigabyte list their sb motherboards, and the Kingston ram is listed under their QVL
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 25, 2010, 08:57 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canaduh
Posts: 376

My System Specs

Default

Iin the list you gave I'd get 8gb instead of 4gb 1600ram since there's isn't much real world difference between ram speed.
Better yet would be 8gb of 1600 :D

you still have a week or so to shop for ram

i wouldn't be so sure about overclocking a cl9 1333 kit to cl9 1600, we're talking about budget ram here, so it's hit or miss

if you plan to OC on SB, ram overclockability won't matter much since you overclock with multiplier only, so ram will stay at the rated speed no matter which cpu speed you'll end up to.

btw just in case you didn't know you NEED a 2500k or 2600K to Overclock on SB, the others have NO oc.(unless you count ~3mhz like an oc).
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 26, 2010, 12:45 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9
Default

yea getting unlocked versions no point getting non-k models
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Confused as all get out Dogger1 Water Cooling 3 October 14, 2010 06:03 PM
Confused what to do with my computer right now. Kayen New Builds 10 November 4, 2009 06:32 PM
I'm soooooooooo confused Elderado Video Cards 16 August 8, 2009 07:59 PM
Confused about ram cooling do I need it or dont I? Gameplaywarrior RAM 8 December 5, 2008 06:39 PM
Confused... encorp CPU's and Motherboards 6 April 28, 2008 12:15 PM