Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2008, 10:36 AM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default

my first batch did too, wouldnt even post, new batch is fine...
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2008, 11:01 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 37
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wankerfx View Post
Nice ram you have there. Do the lights actually represent the load you're putting on the ram?

Which kit did you buy? I've found out through the past few months that Crucial uses the same binnings for the PC2-6400 and the PC2-8500 Ballistix and Tracers. In some cases, the PC2-6400's perform better for some odd reason.

Did you reset your CMOS before adding in the new sticks you got?

Also, "D9" chips can be anything by Micron. Not all "D9's" are good performers, such as the budget D9HNL's. Overclockers are looking for D9GMH, and D9GKX - although, I've steered away from that craze, because they are unreliable, even at low voltages.

no the arent but the chips D9 chips that crusil uses are the good ones I have yet to see a set that wont hit the 650mhz range
__________________
E8400 E0 4275 (66 hours orthos stable) @ 1.38v 50deg load /Xfx 780i / 4 GIGz Balistix 6400 / Corsair 620hx / 8800gt @ 740/1800/1000 / Water Cooling
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2008, 12:03 PM
Prof. Dr. Silver's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,187
Default

Now...as it looks like....my sticks won't even hit the 575MHz which sucks! Still some more testing to do.....
__________________
Hardcore Folding at it's BEST! HWC - TPU.... There can be only one team in front! TPU, can you smell our *sses already?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2008, 01:37 PM
llama_egg's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lloydminster
Posts: 748
Default

Hope you got some fans over them Tracers, when overclocked the heat like a beast!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2008, 01:40 PM
Wankerfx's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 583
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ||Console|| View Post
no the arent but the chips D9 chips that crusil uses are the good ones I have yet to see a set that wont hit the 650mhz range
You don't have to believe me, but I have some Crucial Rendition's which have D9HNL chips, and they don't reach anywhere near the 650Mhz range, even with 5-5-5-15 timings and 2.6V.

Victorwang did a review on some "D9" ram, take a look. Micron D9FTB 2GB*2 Review on P965/NV680i - Victor's blog - Overclk, new hardware ...

It takes a ton of voltage (2.6V to hit DDR2-933 CL4) to get anywhere...

BTW, every set of ram that uses "D9" is basically Crucial, because Crucial and Micron are the same company.
__________________
[ER]
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2008, 04:16 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 37
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wankerfx View Post
You don't have to believe me, but I have some Crucial Rendition's which have D9HNL chips, and they don't reach anywhere near the 650Mhz range, even with 5-5-5-15 timings and 2.6V.

Victorwang did a review on some "D9" ram, take a look. Micron D9FTB 2GB*2 Review on P965/NV680i - Victor's blog - Overclk, new hardware ...

It takes a ton of voltage (2.6V to hit DDR2-933 CL4) to get anywhere...

BTW, every set of ram that uses "D9" is basically Crucial, because Crucial and Micron are the same company.
Sorry i sould have stated balistix or tracers .

Yes it does take more voltage to get them up over 600 mhz

LOL not every ram that uses d9's are crucil . http://ramlist.ath.cx/ddr2/
__________________
E8400 E0 4275 (66 hours orthos stable) @ 1.38v 50deg load /Xfx 780i / 4 GIGz Balistix 6400 / Corsair 620hx / 8800gt @ 740/1800/1000 / Water Cooling
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2008, 05:07 PM
Wankerfx's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 583
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ||Console|| View Post
Sorry i sould have stated balistix or tracers .

Yes it does take more voltage to get them up over 600 mhz

LOL not every ram that uses d9's are crucil . http://ramlist.ath.cx/ddr2/

The D9FTB don't go anywhere near 600Mhz.


Generally speaking; every "D9" you find in sticks of ram belongs to Crucial, because they are the same company.

Arg, this is really off topic, sorry OP

(No more off topic for me)
__________________
[ER]
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2008, 05:08 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,574
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prof. Dr. Silver View Post
Now...as it looks like....my sticks won't even hit the 575MHz which sucks! Still some more testing to do.....
Those tracers are severely finicky sticks that can take some figuring out to get running properly.

I was never a fan of them but more a fan of the Ballistix.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2008, 05:25 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 37
Default

what timmings are you running when trying for over 575? 5-5-5-15? are you on the 1:1 divider ? if so it might be the chip or the mb that doesnt like fsb over 570 . And differnt mbs like different dividers @ different multi's
__________________
E8400 E0 4275 (66 hours orthos stable) @ 1.38v 50deg load /Xfx 780i / 4 GIGz Balistix 6400 / Corsair 620hx / 8800gt @ 740/1800/1000 / Water Cooling
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2008, 06:00 PM
Prof. Dr. Silver's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,187
Default

I'm in the lucky possession of a P5N32-E SLI(680i)...which means that I can run my RAM 'unlinked' from the FSB. And yeah...for testing purposes I leave the voltage at stock (2.2V) and timings set @ 5-5-5-15, rest auto.

So far I did 570MHz stable...which in my eyes is louzy....!

Ps. The stated 4-4-4-12-2t in my sig also doesn't work anymore..... since this new PSU and the latest BIOS update....my rig bacame very unstable....bad OC'ing since then....but that also has to do with the E6850. It has a locked multi, which sucks @$$!
__________________
Hardcore Folding at it's BEST! HWC - TPU.... There can be only one team in front! TPU, can you smell our *sses already?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8500 sticks? 3.0charlie RAM 15 February 3, 2008 10:48 AM
Mushkin's new 2B sticks of ddr2 Babrbarossa Press Releases & Tech News 4 October 24, 2007 07:50 PM
Which of these sticks of ram should I buy? Song RAM 2 September 1, 2007 09:53 PM