Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2010, 05:44 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

IMO no. this fan is useless if you have a decent case and sometime you pay for the name with corsair memory. Mushkin showed us over the years that they are as good as Corsair so I would go with it. Go mushkin go :P
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2010, 06:25 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,144

My System Specs

Default

Ihave some 3x2 Mushkins work nice but dont like to go over rated speed much

If you want LN2 ro realy max out the overclock then the Corsair
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2010, 07:10 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 414
Default

Corsair almost always have a ridiculous price premium for a lot of their stuff.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2010, 07:11 PM
ToXic's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 469
Default

id always avoid Corsair ram due to issues with it and my board, but tbh they are almost identical to G. Skill (same ICs, hint hint ;) ) but I use mushkin in all my laptops (id like to buy some redline next build, but I like G. Skill :P).
__________________
Some kind of pathetic Apple convert

17" Macbook Pro - Stock
15" Macbook Pro Retina - Stock
13" Macbook Air - Stock
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 1, 2011, 11:55 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 26
Default

Ram is one of those things marketers found recently they could gimmick us. I prefer cheap ram because it just works. No fuss. And they usually play nicer together when you add later.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2011, 10:49 AM
Ctech's Avatar
Restricted Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 40
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chumpy View Post
Ram is one of those things marketers found recently they could gimmick us. I prefer cheap ram because it just works. No fuss. And they usually play nicer together when you add later.
I second that. As long as it's from a known brand (Kingston, OCZ, etc.) price premiums are for names when comparing similar spec'd sticks.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DDr3 worth the extra money for motherboard/ram johnnyblazzwa RAM 15 January 7, 2010 03:09 PM
Q6600 vs Q9550. The extra 150$ worth it? chouchou CPU's and Motherboards 12 November 18, 2008 04:24 PM
Wii Package + extra nunchuck + extra game $340 >>>> $320 ONLY!!! thatguy Buy/Sell & Trade 2 August 3, 2008 04:05 PM
9800GTX worth the extra 60 bucks!! Need some advice tonight!! bushwickbill Video Cards 5 April 17, 2008 07:23 PM
8GB of ram. Worth it? Salavat23 RAM 28 December 24, 2007 12:42 PM