Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2010, 12:03 AM
ToXic's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 469
Default Trying to overclock G. Skill Pi

So iv been trying to push my Pi, but it seems I cant even get it to do 6-7-6-24 at 1504Mhz, and thats a downclock from stock, and according to G. Skill tech over on there forum I can do "CAS 6 stock speeds, or CAS 9 at 2000Mhz" (which doesn't even post...) When I attempt CAS 6 I get to the win7 logo, then i BSOD or blackout.

Anyone got any advice? Im kind of regretting not just buying the 2000Mhz Trident+
__________________
Some kind of pathetic Apple convert

17" Macbook Pro - Stock
15" Macbook Pro Retina - Stock
13" Macbook Air - Stock
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2010, 12:17 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 410
Default

You know, my car doesn't start either, how do I get it to work? BTW, I'm not gonna tell you anything I've done, so you're gonna have to guess.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2010, 12:19 AM
ToXic's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 469
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YoungMan View Post
You know, my car doesn't start either, how do I get it to work? BTW, I'm not gonna tell you anything I've done, so you're gonna have to guess.
Thanks for being so rude, it really helps!

I pretty much just went to set my dram clock to 1504Mhz, went to timings went 6-7-6-24 auto for rest, voltage 1.5. Not much elts I could do...
__________________
Some kind of pathetic Apple convert

17" Macbook Pro - Stock
15" Macbook Pro Retina - Stock
13" Macbook Air - Stock
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2010, 05:41 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 410
Default

You're quite welcome. Not many people these days appreciate rudeness. These are dark times.

If your system is the one in the signature, you need to raise your memory controller voltage. They go by different names on different motherboards. Usually called Uncore on most.
Start at 1.35 and go up.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2010, 11:44 AM
ToXic's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 469
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YoungMan View Post
You're quite welcome. Not many people these days appreciate rudeness. These are dark times.

If your system is the one in the signature, you need to raise your memory controller voltage. They go by different names on different motherboards. Usually called Uncore on most.
Start at 1.35 and go up.
Thank you, I will try this, Iv never clocked ram, I usually leave it stock.
__________________
Some kind of pathetic Apple convert

17" Macbook Pro - Stock
15" Macbook Pro Retina - Stock
13" Macbook Air - Stock
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2010, 12:46 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

yup it's your imc i wouldn't go over 1.45 but that just me
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2010, 01:10 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,514

My System Specs

Default

I personally had issues getting my Pi sticks to run 6-8-6-24 @ 1600, but I assumed that was because the timings were rated for intel and I was running on AMD rigs. That said..... 7-8-7-24 has a fair bit of headroom over and above 1600.

You mentioned setting the 6-7-6-24 in bios, and then leaving everything else on auto.... did you bump the mem voltage up to the required level? If they're the same sticks as I've got (dual channel set rated for 6-8-6-24) they need 1.6V to run at those speeds.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2010, 01:25 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,089

My System Specs

Default

My mushkins are at 1.7 V but they were rateted at 1,69 V 1600.
Leave mutiplyer stock and push QPI and the sticks will get pushed to.
watch the Magic 3400 Qpi if you cn go over your lucky but try and stay near 3400 QPI or under at first.
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2010, 01:25 PM
ToXic's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 469
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
I personally had issues getting my Pi sticks to run 6-8-6-24 @ 1600, but I assumed that was because the timings were rated for intel and I was running on AMD rigs. That said..... 7-8-7-24 has a fair bit of headroom over and above 1600.

You mentioned setting the 6-7-6-24 in bios, and then leaving everything else on auto.... did you bump the mem voltage up to the required level? If they're the same sticks as I've got (dual channel set rated for 6-8-6-24) they need 1.6V to run at those speeds.
i had them at 1.65v, and a uncore of 1.4 and I freeze on my raid controller starting. Mine are a tri channel set rated for 7-8-7-24 at 1.5v.

What exactly is the maximum safe uncore... Before I wreck something.
__________________
Some kind of pathetic Apple convert

17" Macbook Pro - Stock
15" Macbook Pro Retina - Stock
13" Macbook Air - Stock
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2010, 01:29 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,089

My System Specs

Default

the bord 1.69 V the sticks RAM vary dont know sorry
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which G.Skill Ripjaws should I get? lsquare RAM 10 January 29, 2010 03:49 PM
Mushkin or G.Skill bigdee RAM 16 February 28, 2009 01:19 PM
G Skill or ? upcoast604 RAM 3 December 29, 2008 11:16 AM
G.Skill Help derrXIII RAM 2 September 7, 2008 11:30 AM
G.skill F2-8500cl5d BALISTX RAM 13 April 10, 2008 05:41 PM