Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 29, 2010, 06:46 PM
FlyingFish's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 491
Default Memory for i7 970?

I'm going to be picking up an i7 970 in a few days, and I've picked up a Sabertooth X58, and now I just need to pick out some RAM that would be good for overclocking.


NCIX.com - Buy G.SKILL F3-12800CL9T-6GBNQ 6GB DDR3 3X2GB DDR3-1600 CL 9-9-9-24 Triple Channel Memory Kit - F3-12800CL9T-6GBNQ In Canada.

Is this memory any good?


I've read that the max voltage for memory on the i7 is 1.65, so should I go with 1.5v to leave room for overclocks?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 29, 2010, 08:08 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,929

My System Specs

Default

I am a firm believer in buying the cheapest ram you can.

Ram clocks and timings don't really pay all that large part in overall system performance.

Now as for that kit, I have had it in the past and I thought it was pretty good stuff.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 30, 2010, 10:40 AM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

+1 I acutally pick wathever is in special that week. Mind you, I am not a ram overclocker, but I never found it really beneficial on the overall system performance.

I have used (for the X58) : Gskil, Kingston Hyper X and OCZ. all went well with any of them.

P.S. you will have fun with the sabertooh. Nice board
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 30, 2010, 04:39 PM
FlyingFish's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 491
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by matsta31 View Post
+1 I acutally pick wathever is in special that week. Mind you, I am not a ram overclocker, but I never found it really beneficial on the overall system performance.

I have used (for the X58) : Gskil, Kingston Hyper X and OCZ. all went well with any of them.

P.S. you will have fun with the sabertooh. Nice board

Good to know! I look forward to playing with all that stuff
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2010, 04:07 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 51
Default

Did you get your i7 970 yet? I am getting the i7 970 as well for my next rig too. Have you tried overclocking the chip? I tried to search for OC guide for the i7 970 but then there is none. Can i follow i7 920 oc guide for the 970?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2010, 04:47 PM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,483

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xhrrcollector View Post
Did you get your i7 970 yet? I am getting the i7 970 as well for my next rig too. Have you tried overclocking the chip? I tried to search for OC guide for the i7 970 but then there is none. Can i follow i7 920 oc guide for the 970?
Absolutely. The only real difference is a higher multiplier (24x vs 20x), which just means you'll hit 4.0Ghz on less BCLK, and potentially less volts (32nm). This could also lead to a higher overclock at a higher BCLK, depending on the quality of chip..
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2010, 08:31 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 51
Default

Is higher BLCK lower multiplier better or lower BLCK higher multiplier better. Sorry complete OC noob here. I wanna hit 4.0 this time :)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2010, 07:24 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canaduh
Posts: 376

My System Specs

Default

block doesn't change performance since it's only a base clock value, but lower block is easier on mobo/scpu.
use the one that gives the best cpu frenquncy vs ram frequency
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2010, 10:01 AM
Smoothie's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario
Posts: 271

My System Specs

Default

I would go for Mushkin Redlines myself, great bang for your puck with low timings.
NCIX.com - Buy Mushkin Enhanced Redline Frostbyte 6GB 3X2GB PC3-12800 DDR3-1600 CL6-8-6-24 Triple Channel Memory - 998805 In Canada.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2010, 10:54 AM
FlyingFish's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 491
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smoothie View Post
Out of stock and $180?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] Intel i7 970 Inik Buy/Sell & Trade 13 November 23, 2010 07:48 PM
i7 970 or PII 955 FlyingFish CPU's and Motherboards 2 November 21, 2010 11:42 PM
Intel Core i7 970 - 6 Cores AmuseMe Press Releases & Tech News 7 July 18, 2010 08:55 PM
[VR-Zone]i7 970 estimated to be priced at $885 rip10793 Press Releases & Tech News 0 July 5, 2010 11:34 AM