Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2007, 06:21 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Man why do people assume that more ram = better; it does not!

The only time more memory will be good is if you do a lot of cpu and memory intensive things like encoding or cad stuff but if all you are is a general computer user who surfs/web/ and games a bit 2gb is perfectly fine!

Just because memory is cheap doesn't mean you need it.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2007, 06:29 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 76
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MpG View Post
Number 2. Better latencies at less voltage? Almost certainly better chips in those Mushkin's, probably with some headroom to play with, if you're so inclined. It'll be quite some time before 4 GB isn't enough for a regular desktop. I'm a chronic parts collector myself, but I honestly don't see the need for 8 GB of RAM, unless I was planning on another cheap build up in the near future.
Are you sure?

It is the same price.

But the Mushkin are better overclockers I hear.

But is it worth buying 4gb of slightly faster ram when it is possible to get 8gb of slower ram for the same price?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2007, 06:35 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Salavat23 View Post
Are you sure?

It is the same price.

But the Mushkin are better overclockers I hear.

But is it worth buying 4gb of slightly faster ram when it is possible to get 8gb of slower ram for the same price?
Unless you have a need for it buying 8gb of memory is purely for "coolness"
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2007, 06:41 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

Seriously, I don't see the point of getting 8 GB. With what you do on your computer, 8 GB will give ZERO improvement over 4 GB, whereas the faster memory CAN help. Aside from that, budget RAM really isn't the kind of thing worth stockpiling.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2007, 06:49 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MpG View Post
Seriously, I don't see the point of getting 8 GB. With what you do on your computer, 8 GB will give ZERO improvement over 4 GB, whereas the faster memory CAN help. Aside from that, budget RAM really isn't the kind of thing worth stockpiling.
4gb will give 0% of difference over 2gb unless you have a demand for it.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2007, 06:57 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

Agreed. But that 'demand' is far more feasible. Particularly with Vista, you can pretty much kiss nearly a GB goodbye up front, even with tweaking, and using up another GB isn't particularly hard. Hence, the case for 4 GB.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2007, 06:32 AM
qwerty's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Alliston, Ontario
Posts: 250
Default

Why not put that cash that's burning a hole towards a shiny new graphics card or what have you.

EDIT- or replace your current RAM for something reasonable.
__________________
Gigabyte Z97X-SLI ~ Pentium G3258 OC'd ~ 2 x EVGA GTX 670 FTW SLI ~ Adata DDR3 1600 ~ Seagate SataII 500 GB ~ Antec HCG850 ~ Cooler Master K280
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2007, 08:28 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 76
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by qwerty View Post
Why not put that cash that's burning a hole towards a shiny new graphics card or what have you.

EDIT- or replace your current RAM for something reasonable.
I am saving for Nvidia's upcoming 9 series.

Right now, I have an EVGA 7600GT.

And how is $146 for 8GB of PC6400 ram "not reasonable". It is a great deal.

I use Vista, and if I am correct, it does aggressive caching. Therefore, it should have the ability to cache an entire game (~4GB) into the memory. That would drastically improve load times, and maybe few added frames. No?
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2007, 08:29 AM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

8GB of RAM is unnecessary. Go with the good kit of 4GB, faster mem speed will do more than the extra 4GB that isnt being used. You can use no PF with 4GB still.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2007, 08:43 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 76
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eldonko View Post
8GB of RAM is unnecessary. Go with the good kit of 4GB, faster mem speed will do more than the extra 4GB that isnt being used. You can use no PF with 4GB still.
That memory runs at 5-5-5-18 at 1.8v

I should be able to squeeze out 4-4-4-12@2.0v@~850???

Right???

And I can cache a game (~4GB) into the memory with 8gb of ram. Correct??
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Worth $200? Cardboard box with DSL Mobile Computing 4 March 11, 2008 06:58 PM
Hiper Anubis - Is it worth it? JShupka Cases 0 January 21, 2008 11:21 PM
WD Raptor - Big Difference? Worth it? zlojack Storage 17 December 18, 2007 05:27 PM
How much is this gonna worth? mrlie3 Troubleshooting 4 July 30, 2007 10:24 PM
Mousepads... worth it? UNESCO Peripherals 10 March 13, 2007 05:43 AM