Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2010, 06:52 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 10
Default Dual Channel 8GB or Triple Channel 6GB?

Hey guys, so I'm working on a new build and have searched around but cannot find any answer to my question. This is the build Im working with for reference:

PSU
Case
Graphics Card
Motherboard
CPU

Then I'm wondering what RAM sticks to go for: the Dual Channel 8GB or the Triple Channel 6GB. They are both the same price ($170) and have the same clock speed (1333MHz), but I don't know what to get. All my friends are saying go for the triple channel, and this would make it a lot easier to max out the RAM on my system by buying the same set later, but I could also get 8GB for the same price as 6GB. Can you even run dual channel RAM in triple channel designed mobo's?

Thanks for any help in advance guys
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2010, 07:01 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,917

My System Specs

Default

You can run dual channel ram in an X58 system. There is a very very small performance difference between the two. I would still likely go for the triple channel set, but it really depends on what you are using the computer for. Can you really use all 8GB?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2010, 07:03 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 10
Default

Its mainly going to be a gaming rig, but I will be doing some video processing on it. I don't think I will use all 8GB, though, but it is nice to have. My laptop currently has 6GB and I max that out sometimes (not very often though) Im starting to sway to the triple channel stuff
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2010, 07:28 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

Much bigger difference between pagefile and dual-channel than there is between dual and triple channel. If you can actually break 6GB in your computing activities, I'd look fairly hard at 8GB. Or if budget allows, get 6GB, and throw 6 more in down the road and never worry again.

Although I might note that I can't see the price parity you speak of in those two links. And hopefully you're checking retailers other than just TD - it's a little uncommon for them to have the best prices.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2010, 07:34 PM
Jake_HT's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,984

My System Specs

Default

I thought I read a post where a guy had 4 DIMMs installed, yet the system still ran in triple channel?

EDIT: here

Corsair Dominator GT 1866 C9
__________________
http://jakeht.deviantart.com/
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 20, 2010, 08:54 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,917

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jake_HT View Post
I thought I read a post where a guy had 4 DIMMs installed, yet the system still ran in triple channel?

EDIT: here

Corsair Dominator GT 1866 C9
He is looking @ a 2 x 4GB however. So it would still be dual channel.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 25, 2010, 02:31 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 644

My System Specs

Default

I've been looking into 2 dual channel kits for my i7 and all the mobo manuals I've looked at show 4 dimms work in triple channel + an addition stick ( a1, a2, b1, c1 )
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] Triple Channel DDR3 6GB Silvgearx Buy/Sell & Trade 3 June 22, 2010 06:03 PM
[FS] 6GB DDR3 1333MHz Triple Channel OCZ ouaibe Buy/Sell & Trade 1 March 25, 2010 09:53 AM
Looking for Mushkin Redlines Ascent 6GB Triple Channel Kit... Smoothie RAM 1 January 15, 2010 08:41 PM
Dual Channel 8GB vs Tri Channel 6GB Patlabor RAM 7 June 18, 2009 08:10 PM
4GB Dual Channel or 8GB Single Channel Mr. Gruntsworthy RAM 26 October 14, 2008 12:14 PM