Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2010, 04:21 PM
ToXic's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 469
Default Mixing ram

So normally I have 6 gigs ddr3 of ocz platinum 1600, but I got another 6 of the exact same model and timings but in 1333 ( got it dirt cheap) so I wondering if I could just clock the two to work in harmony, like clocking up the 1333 to 1600?

I have to redo all my overclocks due to a board swap so I figure I need to know this.
__________________
Some kind of pathetic Apple convert

17" Macbook Pro - Stock
15" Macbook Pro Retina - Stock
13" Macbook Air - Stock
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2010, 04:30 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,798

My System Specs

Default

You're going the wrong way.....

Clock them both to the lowest common denominator (1333) and then work your way up from there. Memory rated for the same timings at the next lowest speeds probably didn't bin as well as the higher binned kits you've got, and thus probably wouldn't be able to do the 1600 at those timings.

It's often hard enough to get 2 full sets of matched memory to run at rated speeds/timings, let alone expecting lower binned memory to do as well as higher binned memory.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2010, 04:45 PM
ToXic's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 469
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
You're going the wrong way.....

Clock them both to the lowest common denominator (1333) and then work your way up from there. Memory rated for the same timings at the next lowest speeds probably didn't bin as well as the higher binned kits you've got, and thus probably wouldn't be able to do the 1600 at those timings.

It's often hard enough to get 2 full sets of matched memory to run at rated speeds/timings, let alone expecting lower binned memory to do as well as higher binned memory.
So Uh 12 gb of 1333? I think I can deal with that.... So if I clocked it wouldn't work to well?
__________________
Some kind of pathetic Apple convert

17" Macbook Pro - Stock
15" Macbook Pro Retina - Stock
13" Macbook Air - Stock
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2010, 04:57 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,798

My System Specs

Default

I wouldn't expect it to post at all @ 1600, however you never know... you could try.

It sounds like you're OC'ing anywise so what I'd do is to start your OC with the assumption that your memory might be limited to 1333 and work from there. It might do better than that, or you might find that because of the two sets you've got to fight with it just to get it to do 12GB at rated timings / 1333.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2010, 05:08 PM
ToXic's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 469
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
I wouldn't expect it to post at all @ 1600, however you never know... you could try.

It sounds like you're OC'ing anywise so what I'd do is to start your OC with the assumption that your memory might be limited to 1333 and work from there. It might do better than that, or you might find that because of the two sets you've got to fight with it just to get it to do 12GB at rated timings / 1333.
7 days to make it work or I'm returning it, thanks for the info!

I hope to god I can make it run with my i7.
__________________
Some kind of pathetic Apple convert

17" Macbook Pro - Stock
15" Macbook Pro Retina - Stock
13" Macbook Air - Stock
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2010, 05:46 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,121

My System Specs

Default

I don't think I've ever had any DDR3 that wouldn't clock to at least 1600MHz 9-9-9-24.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mixing RAM? technix RAM 7 May 4, 2010 07:52 PM
MSI and Hydra chip means DX11 5800 and 400 Mixing Big Bang Fusuoin (Hexus. com) ZZLEE Rumor Mill 6 April 22, 2010 05:56 PM
[FS] SD ram and RD ram.. and mini pci wireless cards shockthebox Buy/Sell & Trade 4 April 27, 2009 10:32 PM
Mixing Manufactures in CF cwestwell Video Cards 10 March 3, 2009 04:05 PM
Mixing ram? Cadence RAM 14 December 9, 2008 03:40 PM