Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2007, 11:44 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: West Coast Canada
Posts: 175
Exclamation Canada, I Have come to you guys for your Help?

I Am looking to Buy Four 1Gb sticks of DDR@ 800Mhz or Better for under 90-100 Bucks Canadian after Rebates.
I have never Ordered Online Before So I need some help. I live in B.C., Well Sidney to be Exact. And I can Order As soon As I find a Good Deal. So lets Find a deal so i get My E6400 Maxed Out. My 667Mhz Ram that is installed just won't cut it.
I have heard so many diff Things as to which Ram is best.
Something to keep in mind though. The Ram needs to be able to boot at 1.8V, And My Mobo only goes up to 2.1V in that department. And obviously It has to be Compatible with ASUS P5B. Is there a huge diff between the D9 Micron Chips and "Other" Ram??
People say that you have to have the d9 Micron or it is no Good. Please help me guys.
I just Wasted 69.00 Bucks Canadian Each stick for my Current DDR2 667Mhz Rm less than three months ago. I am Broke, But just enough to pull out a good deal, then sell my Four GB's to recoup some cash.

Thanx Guys!!
__________________
System spec: Intel i7 2600k, Gigabyte GTX 570 Super Overclock, Kingston DDR3 2X4 GB sticks, ASUS P8P67 PRO, Cooler Master 700 watt PSU, 750GB*2 Sata,SATA III 1TB HDD Acer 24 Widescreen, Antec 300, Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2007, 12:30 AM
qwerty's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Alliston, Ontario
Posts: 250
Default

Crucial Ballistix pc6400/800mhz @ 4-4-4-12 timings.

Can be had for less $80 per 2G set. Overclock like beasts and perform as such. They are the best RAM you can buy for the least money in many peoples humble opinion. Oh yeah and they run @ 1.8 or 1.9 volts and have D9's.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2007, 03:54 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

NCIX.com - Buy Buffalo Firestix FSX800D2C-K2G 2GB 2X1GB PC2-6400 DDR2-800 CL5-5-5 240PIN DIMM Dual Channel Memory - FSX800D2C-K2G In Canada.

these firestix are good mudules- only 59 bucks a set now

Then there's the old reliable OCZs for only 40 bucks-
NCIX.com - Buy OCZ Platinum XTC REV.2 PC2-6400 2GB 2X1GB DDR2-800 CL4-4-4-15 240PIN DIMM Dual Channel Memory Kit - OCZ2P800R22GK In Canada. Technology&promoid=1051
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2007, 05:40 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,667

My System Specs

Default

Or some Mushkin: Mushkin HP PC2-6400 HP2-6400 2GB 2X1GB DDR2-800 CL4-4-4-12 240PIN DIMM Dual Channel Memory Kit - DirectCanada - 75$.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2007, 10:00 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: West Coast Canada
Posts: 175
Exclamation thanx

I know I said Around 100. I kinda am limited to 90-100 After Rebates on four GB's. So how does one go about getting two rebates? Can't I order one, Then My friend down the Complex order one set for himself. But if we both use the same credit card, Will we both get the rebate??
I gotta get this figured out fast.
I saw this kit too, Faster timings then the second set?
PC VILLAGE www.pcvonline.com -- PC Computers,Laptops,Systems,Parts,Customer Services & Company solutions
Or
PC VILLAGE www.pcvonline.com -- PC Computers,Laptops,Systems,Parts,Customer Services & Company solutions
Is there any diff between these two sets. What id=f I ordered a set of each, Would they be compatible on my ASUS P5B???
That would make this rebate thing go smoother. But I suppose it is better to have the sets the same model right?
Which is faster 4,4,4,15 or 5,5,5,12?? And which speed would normally have more headroom for Overclocking if I plan to go faster.

Thanx for your help, Almost there. My Chip better go up to 3.2Ghz for all this trouble:help:
I will see a good improvement in games going from my now 2.6Ghz stable to 3.2Ghz Right?
Or am I doing all this for no extra Crysis Frame rates. I know the Faster CPU will help with Burning and other stuff, But does adding another 600MHZ on the CPU effect Gaming that much?? Crysis is supposed to be Dual or Quad core Hungry, So a Faster Dual Core should help
__________________
System spec: Intel i7 2600k, Gigabyte GTX 570 Super Overclock, Kingston DDR3 2X4 GB sticks, ASUS P8P67 PRO, Cooler Master 700 watt PSU, 750GB*2 Sata,SATA III 1TB HDD Acer 24 Widescreen, Antec 300, Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit

Last edited by bushwickbill; December 10, 2007 at 10:25 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2007, 10:49 AM
Prof. Dr. Silver's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,187
Default

The Plat. Rev2 800MHz is a great set for an incredible price...! It is faster than the second set(Gold set) you wrote down. This set has quite a bit of headroom....but you never really know...that depends per chip. Mine runs @ 900MHz 4-4-4-12-2t

As for improvement while playing games....yes, there will be some, but don't expect extremes! it all depends...really..on many factors. You also cannot tell for sure. wether your CPU will do better when you buy this RAM....it is unfortunately possible that you CPU won't go any faster than 2.75GHz...but give it a shot....you can't go wrong for that price!

Seasons Greetings
__________________
Hardcore Folding at it's BEST! HWC - TPU.... There can be only one team in front! TPU, can you smell our *sses already?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2007, 12:14 PM
1Tanker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,170
Default

Good luck getting 4GB of half-decent DDR2 800 for $90.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2007, 01:48 PM
qwerty's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Alliston, Ontario
Posts: 250
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1Tanker View Post
Good luck getting 4GB of half-decent DDR2 800 for $90.
I agree here. You get what you pay for. I wouldn't even bother. You won't get anything good for that price. I would just wait until I had more money. If you have a job then just wait a bit, what's the big hurry?

You won't be happy with crappy RAM. You already have crappy RAM and you want to buy more junk? Doesn't make sense. Save your cash and buy something decent or don't bother as you won't be happy.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2007, 01:55 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Did you guys see the posts?? 40 bucks for 2GB OCZ platinum- that's four GB for 80 bucks- nothing wrong with that RAM
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2007, 03:04 PM
qwerty's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Alliston, Ontario
Posts: 250
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Babrbarossa View Post
Did you guys see the posts?? 40 bucks for 2GB OCZ platinum- that's four GB for 80 bucks- nothing wrong with that RAM
Good luck getting the MIR from OCZ.

Make sure you send the MIR in certified mail so they have to sign for it or count yourself sol for the mir. Make sure you check the portion to get the receipt returned to you as well so that you have proof in 8 weeks when you receive nothing.

EDIT :Also make photocopies of everything as OCZ among others usually 'lose' the first batch you send in.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any car guys ?? FrankyG Off Topic 361 July 11, 2010 07:44 PM
WTB: TI-83 Plus [Canada] Wankerfx Buy/Sell & Trade 3 February 2, 2008 05:16 PM
What OC did you guys get for 8800GT? Spblue Video Cards 8 January 27, 2008 07:40 AM
Seriously, Guys... DC sucks! Patriote Off Topic 16 November 4, 2007 02:32 AM
GA-P35-DS4 or P5K-E available in Canada? Hitikiro CPU's and Motherboards 7 August 22, 2007 09:52 AM