Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 20, 2010, 11:39 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 56
Default Ram compatible with this motherboard?

RAM: Corsair XMS3 Dominator GT 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3 2000MHz CL8 DIMM w/DHX+ and Airflow Fan

Mainboard: Asus Maximus III Gene
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 20, 2010, 11:49 AM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Yes it is. Board manufacturer have a list of tested memory but 99% of DDR3 will work just fine. And I have no fear to say 100% of good brand memory will work.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 20, 2010, 11:53 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 56
Default

awesome. do you think it's worth $130? A friend of my has a brand new set and is willing to let it go for that price. I checked online and they go for over $200.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 20, 2010, 12:16 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Yeah pretty good deal. I would also concider something like that
NCIX.com - Buy G.SKILL F3-16000CL8D-4GBPIS Pi Series 4GB 2X2GB DDR3-2000 CL8-9-8-24 240PIN Dual Channel Memory Kit - F3-16000CL8D-4GBPIS In Canada.

But 130 from a person you trust without tax and ship is pretty nice. I would go for it unless you prefer to pay a bit more for brand new memory.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 20, 2010, 01:08 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Honestly, you'd be better off with a standard kit of 1600MHz RAM for $80-100. That's a decent price for the Dominators, but realistically you won't see any performance benefit with them compared to cheaper RAM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 23, 2010, 07:24 AM
Smoothie's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario
Posts: 271

My System Specs

Default

Honestly, I would pick up a Triple Channel kit (6 GB) instead. Go for Mushkin Redlines/Blacklines or G Skill Pi series. They are roughly $180 CDN new.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 23, 2010, 12:03 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smoothie View Post
Honestly, I would pick up a Triple Channel kit (6 GB) instead. Go for Mushkin Redlines/Blacklines or G Skill Pi series. They are roughly $180 CDN new.
What would be the point in that? He won't be able to use it in triple-channel mode.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2010, 06:08 PM
Smoothie's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario
Posts: 271

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
What would be the point in that? He won't be able to use it in triple-channel mode.
Oops sorry, I thought that board was LGA 1366. Im a EVGA man when it comes to motherboards so I got Asus' naming scheme mixed up.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] i5 combo (Ram, CPU and Motherboard) flightsimnerd Buy/Sell & Trade 8 January 23, 2010 09:28 AM
[WTB] i5 or i7,motherboard and ram, also looking for a case flightsimnerd Buy/Sell & Trade 12 January 9, 2010 09:41 AM
Bad ram or motherboard? bledwk Troubleshooting 15 August 14, 2009 04:23 PM
[WTB] Am2+ Motherboard also need ram phikshin Buy/Sell & Trade 5 January 23, 2009 09:41 AM
Motherboard and Ram fireguy RAM 15 January 13, 2008 05:32 PM