Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 12, 2010, 06:17 AM
PLg PLg is offline
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Laval, Qc
Posts: 180
Default DDR3 for htpc

I'm about to put together an htpc compose of this motherboard : GA-H55N-USB3 and an I3. there won't be any gaming on it. Only web and 1080p movies.
There might be a mild overclock on the i3.
I've read the review about the
G.Skill ECO PC3-12800 CL7 and the lower heat is something I could benefit since there will be limited air flow. I know they also make a pc3-10666 kit,
Do I even need 4gb or 2gb would cut it? In that case I would have to go with some value ram I guess.

w7+xmbc+onboardvideo


any suggestion welcome
thank you

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 12, 2010, 07:28 AM
Photograph's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: T.O.
Posts: 193

My System Specs

Default

My HTPC is an almost identical setup but it does do some light gaming thanks to the Radeon 5570 I popped in there a few months ago. The G.Skill ECO is great stuff, I have 4Gb's of it in my HTPC, 4Gb in my gaming machine and 8Gb in my portable workstation and it runs ice cold in all three machines.

As for amount of memory, you really don't need more than 2Gb for a basic HTPC but 4Gb does give you some headroom if there are more demanding tasks or OS upgrades in the future for this machine. That's why I went with 4Gb, I won't have to try and find more matching memory in the future and the sweetspot as far as pricing goes are the 4Gb kits.

Hope that helps.
__________________
HWC Folding Rig: Gigabyte H55N-USB3, Intel Core i3 530 @4.6Ghz, GTX 460
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 12, 2010, 07:38 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,575

My System Specs

Default

If its an HTPC you really wont need more the 2GB of ram, hell i dont think you'll get any 'performance' increase on an htpc running ddr3 ram over ddr2
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 13, 2010, 10:00 AM
PLg PLg is offline
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Laval, Qc
Posts: 180
Default

probably not but since I'll be using the 1156 platfrom I have to pick between the different ddr3 models but thanks Photograph, nice to know they do run pretty cool.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 13, 2010, 10:04 AM
shaw
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Cheapest, slowest ram sticks you can find, 2Gb flavor. Don't worry about ram getting hot while used in a HTPC.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] Gigabyte P55-UD6 & Crucial 4GB DDR3-1600 C7/DDR3-1920 C9 Combo - $SOLD MAC Buy/Sell & Trade 4 January 11, 2010 08:39 AM
Team Group Introduces DDR3-1800 & DDR3-2000 4GB Memory Kits MAC Press Releases & Tech News 0 September 17, 2008 07:03 PM
FS: OCZ Platinum OCZ3P13332GK 2GB DDR3 2X1GB DDR3-1333 JPxM0Dz Buy/Sell & Trade 2 April 14, 2008 10:40 AM