Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 6, 2010, 07:40 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 67
Default DDR2 interleveled v.s. dual channel?

I'm considering buying a pair of OCZ 1066 DDR2 to replace my current 2X1 GB + 2GB (total 4gb) interlevelled ram kit on my P5Q PRo Turbo.

The old ram won't go it waste as its going stright to a HTPC.

Is there going to be a noticable difference from the change, I know the frequency difference would be minimal but I was hoping the switch from interlevel mismatch to dual channel would result in better performance.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 6, 2010, 08:13 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

minimal at best. unless youre going for paper numbers.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 6, 2010, 08:14 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,578
Default

interleaved means your ram is NOT running in Dual channel.

You won't see much performance difference, but the ram isn't running like its supposed to.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 6, 2010, 09:28 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,925

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
interleaved means your ram is NOT running in Dual channel.

You won't see much performance difference, but the ram isn't running like its supposed to.
It definitely is dual channel still.

Desktop Boards — Single, dual, triple and flex memory modes
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 6, 2010, 09:31 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,578
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post

Oops! I meant asymetric!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 6, 2010, 10:09 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

a whuile back i tried either to see if it made a difference(big,noticeable in your face difference). spent a couple hours in vain :)

its good since it can help with different sticks and such stability wise, but besides that? meh
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 7, 2010, 06:48 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 67
Default

Ok guys thanks for the tip, maybe I'll leave it for now, and put the money towards an SSD or something fun :) Cheers I love that we have a forum for PCs in Canada!

My friend allowed me to try a pair of his OCZ platnum 1066@ dual channel, you guys were right the difference is not exteremly noticable compared to the mismatched DDR2 800s @ interlevel, it shaved 2 seconds off my start up and probably 10 seconds of my game's load times.

Still waiting for that SSD to arrive though.

Last edited by yanhchan; August 8, 2010 at 08:19 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] Corsair 2GB XMS2-5400 TWIN2X Dual Channel DDR2 Kit (2 x 1GB) HaDeS Buy/Sell & Trade 1 July 1, 2009 03:28 PM
FS: cruical 2x2gb ddr2 dual channel kit 4-4-4-12 MarcusFoX Buy/Sell & Trade 4 November 10, 2008 09:13 PM
[FS] Samsung 1GB DDR2 Dual Channel PC2-5300 SODIMM RAM rbinc Buy/Sell & Trade 3 April 11, 2008 07:23 PM
Geil DDR2 Ultra Plus Dual Channel kit pc6400 3-3-3-8 Babrbarossa RAM 12 March 17, 2007 07:25 AM