Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old July 16, 2010, 05:55 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,226

My System Specs

Default

The only thing I can think of is a strange issue with a combination of "single sided" and "dual sided" memory which is making that crucial stick read as a 512 MB.
DDR SDRAM - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia - search for the term

Maybe that crucial is a different flavour of dual / single sided and your motherboard's BIOS doesn't know what's going on?

Also, that X850 might be eating up to 256 MB of system memory due to the "Hypermemory" feature that was popular during that time.

Good luck ;)
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old July 16, 2010, 08:33 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 475
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frontier204 View Post
The only thing I can think of is a strange issue with a combination of "single sided" and "dual sided" memory which is making that crucial stick read as a 512 MB.
DDR SDRAM - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia - search for the term

Maybe that crucial is a different flavour of dual / single sided and your motherboard's BIOS doesn't know what's going on?

Also, that X850 might be eating up to 256 MB of system memory due to the "Hypermemory" feature that was popular during that time.

Good luck ;)
forgot to mention that the sticks i install is all double sided aka dual sided.

new info:
now i just found out new info that might lead to light. i dig up my very very old sticks paired 2x 256mb...... i tried combining it with my paired adata 2x 1gb...... boot up and says total 2.5gig!!!!!!!!!!!!! that is correct read!

now what does this mean? does this mean my machine is more compatible installing only pairs????? but why when i go to crucial and kingston site and it says i can install without pair is fine?

and the paired 256mb i jus dug up is single sided.... i combine with dual sided paired adata and it reads correct so single sided mix with dual sided is ok for this system.

so is the problem is it can only installed in pairs?





note:
paired plus another paired = reads accurate
paired plus non-paired = read sloppy
dug up old paired 256mb is single sided
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old July 16, 2010, 09:21 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,097

My System Specs

Default

May not be in specks but pairs work better on old 775 boards.
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old July 16, 2010, 09:34 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 475
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZZLEE View Post
May not be in specks but pairs work better on old 775 boards.
how do i know if i got 775 board? where to look?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old July 17, 2010, 08:36 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,612
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hohohee View Post
forgot to mention that the sticks i install is all double sided aka dual sided.

new info:
now i just found out new info that might lead to light. i dig up my very very old sticks paired 2x 256mb...... i tried combining it with my paired adata 2x 1gb...... boot up and says total 2.5gig!!!!!!!!!!!!! that is correct read!

now what does this mean? does this mean my machine is more compatible installing only pairs????? but why when i go to crucial and kingston site and it says i can install without pair is fine?

and the paired 256mb i jus dug up is single sided.... i combine with dual sided paired adata and it reads correct so single sided mix with dual sided is ok for this system.

so is the problem is it can only installed in pairs?





note:
paired plus another paired = reads accurate
paired plus non-paired = read sloppy
dug up old paired 256mb is single sided
there is more to memory than just a few sticks.

single sided, double sided, voltage requirements, timings, density etc.

all of these things have to be compatible with your board otherwise they won't work
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old July 17, 2010, 09:58 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 475
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
there is more to memory than just a few sticks.

single sided, double sided, voltage requirements, timings, density etc.

all of these things have to be compatible with your board otherwise they won't work
how do i know if a stick is high density or low density?
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old July 17, 2010, 10:00 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,612
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hohohee View Post
how do i know if a stick is high density or low density?
Info: What is the Difference Between Low Density and High Density RAM? - Overclock.net - Overclocking.net
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old July 17, 2010, 10:43 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 475
Default

cool info link. so its 64m vs 128m. where does it tell either if its a 64m or 128m in the physical stick? on this stick im looking at it, it doesnt say anything about 64m or 128m. but the other sticks in my inventory do.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] Phenom II 925/945 M3N72-D 4GB DDR3 4GB DD2 EP35-DS3R 2x HD 2900XT *priced to move* Linus Buy/Sell & Trade 7 May 9, 2009 05:34 PM
FS: Rampage Extreme, 4GB CSX Diablo DDR3 2000, 4GB OCZ Gold DDR3 1600MHz, E8600 zlojack Buy/Sell & Trade 13 November 15, 2008 03:30 PM
Can i make something out of this? CactusJoe New Builds 17 November 7, 2008 04:46 PM
FS: E8400, E4500, Mushkin Redline XP28000 4GB, G.Skill PC28000 4GB zlojack Buy/Sell & Trade 10 July 6, 2008 10:01 PM