Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old July 13, 2010, 07:26 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,223

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Of course it'll help.

More ram = less hard drive access times
Agreed, especially when you're going 1 GB to 2 GB. I see you mentioned programming, and at my school I can cripple the 1 GB RAM "lab" computers while doing research which I consider simple. (by cripple I mean the computer is hitting the pagefile so much that it takes >15 seconds for any response)

...I almost lost work once because their IT dept thought those computers would actually be stable without a pagefile but that's another story ...

As an example, I noticeably slowed the computer with the following:
Windows XP + Firefox with ~5 tabs + Eclipse IDE running Java program that had no GUI + Matlab displaying a single graph + MS Office with the professor's PPT slides
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old July 14, 2010, 04:27 AM
andynerd's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 365
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frontier204 View Post
Agreed, especially when you're going 1 GB to 2 GB. I see you mentioned programming, and at my school I can cripple the 1 GB RAM "lab" computers while doing research which I consider simple. (by cripple I mean the computer is hitting the pagefile so much that it takes >15 seconds for any response)

...I almost lost work once because their IT dept thought those computers would actually be stable without a pagefile but that's another story ...

As an example, I noticeably slowed the computer with the following:
Windows XP + Firefox with ~5 tabs + Eclipse IDE running Java program that had no GUI + Matlab displaying a single graph + MS Office with the professor's PPT slides
Ok you have persuaded me since I am going to university with this as my laptop and then my desktop as my main I think that it deserves and upgrade. Hey I wonder there is some space still with the ram that's currently in it. Is it possible to get soDIMM heat spreaders? Or am i going to have to DIY it?
__________________
"let the geek be with you"
Specs: Asus G74SX
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old July 14, 2010, 09:39 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Why would you want heat spreaders? In most cases they are actually detrimental to RAM cooling.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old July 14, 2010, 09:44 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Richmond Hill
Posts: 8,539

My System Specs

Default

Especially in a laptop as well. If you're 'worried' about the higher price of older ram just buy it used from someone on BST and save yourself a bunch of money. You need PC2-5300 Ram and can't go above it, i believe i even have some for sale in my bst. Remember, you don't always have to buy new ram.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old July 14, 2010, 12:58 PM
andynerd's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 365
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
Especially in a laptop as well. If you're 'worried' about the higher price of older ram just buy it used from someone on BST and save yourself a bunch of money. You need PC2-5300 Ram and can't go above it, i believe i even have some for sale in my bst. Remember, you don't always have to buy new ram.
True but there is a curse on my family: if we try and cut corners on costs what we get will always break or end up being a lesser value. Not to mention not being 18 I doubt I can buy from those websites. And I don't mind paying 55-60 bucks including shipping for 2 1 gb sticks of PC2-5300 ram at 667 mhz and from corsair none the less
__________________
"let the geek be with you"
Specs: Asus G74SX

Last edited by andynerd; July 16, 2010 at 08:20 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sapphire 5870 Vapor-X 2GB vs Toxic 2GB phiiil Video Cards 2 June 17, 2010 03:32 PM
VGA upgrade from GTX 260 first, or CPU+mobo upgrade first? panzerfan Video Cards 9 April 6, 2010 08:25 PM
[FS] FS: ES HD5970 2gb MarcusFoX Buy/Sell & Trade 25 November 22, 2009 07:50 AM
[WTB] 2 x HD4870 X2 2GB anabioz Buy/Sell & Trade 0 July 9, 2009 07:34 AM