Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2010, 10:03 AM
Slik's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Sault Ste Marie On.
Posts: 1,098

My System Specs

Default Gaming Ram?

I would like to know if more ram is better than faster ram for gaming.I have 6 gigs @1333 and I wonder if 12 gigs at the same speed would give overall better performance? Even with the system I have,there are still slowdowns and stuttering in some games.All advice appreciated. Thanks.
__________________
Corsair Air 540 -i7 4930k @ 4.4ghz. Liquid cooled-4x4gb G Skill Trident X DDR3@ 2400mhz- Two EVGA Titans SLI - Xonar Phoebus Sound Card-Dell 3008 30" Monitor-Razer Tiamat Headphones-Butt Kicker Gamer-TrackIR 5
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2010, 10:21 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,408

My System Specs

Default

well I think that 6gb ram is more then enough for gaming but I think it has allot to do with what you have running in the back ground, it is more likely that the game stuttering is coming from a buggy game then not enough ram. the games now days are not made that well they seem to just slap them together ( IMO). of course this depends on a few things like if you are playing the game on line and also the rest of your hard ware like video card processor, but I so believe that 6gb ram is more then enough.
ok I just looked at your signature and if that is the system you are talking about then you are fine.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2010, 10:56 AM
Slik's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Sault Ste Marie On.
Posts: 1,098

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowmeph View Post
well I think that 6gb ram is more then enough for gaming but I think it has allot to do with what you have running in the back ground, it is more likely that the game stuttering is coming from a buggy game then not enough ram. the games now days are not made that well they seem to just slap them together ( IMO). of course this depends on a few things like if you are playing the game on line and also the rest of your hard ware like video card processor, but I so believe that 6gb ram is more then enough.
ok I just looked at your signature and if that is the system you are talking about then you are fine.
Thanks for your response. What would be the best way to go overall. Even tho I am good for now,which would be the better way to upgrade? More or faster? Or,for that matter,does it make a difference?
__________________
Corsair Air 540 -i7 4930k @ 4.4ghz. Liquid cooled-4x4gb G Skill Trident X DDR3@ 2400mhz- Two EVGA Titans SLI - Xonar Phoebus Sound Card-Dell 3008 30" Monitor-Razer Tiamat Headphones-Butt Kicker Gamer-TrackIR 5
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2010, 11:30 AM
ForTheGG's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Calgary AB Canada
Posts: 155

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slik View Post
Thanks for your response. What would be the best way to go overall. Even tho I am good for now,which would be the better way to upgrade? More or faster? Or,for that matter,does it make a difference?
If you want, you could get 12GB of ram and make a RAMDisk to store your favorite game on. The benefit is that the game loads almost instantaneously, due to your RAM being much faster than a traditional HDD. The downside is you lose that RAM for use as running it in your system, but with 12GB it shouldn't matter.
__________________
"Sang Noir"
-Cooler Master Storm Sniper Black Mesh Edition
-Intel Core i7 920 D0 @ 4.116GHz 1.318VCore 24/7 HT On
-Corsair H-50 + 2x Cooler Master R4
-Asus RoG Rampage III Extreme
-6GB OCZ Platinum Triple Channel DDR3-1600 [7-7-7-20]
-2x EVGA GTX 295+ Quad SLI
-Corsair HX-1000
-WD 160GB Raptor 10000RPM
-WD 1000GB Black 7200RPM

http://valid.canardpc.com/cache/banner/1249140.png
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2010, 12:16 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

RAM speed has nearly zero effect on real-world gaming performance. It's not something you need to worry about. As long as you have enough of it (6GB is plenty for now), just leave things as-is. If you really need more performance, there are much better ways to get it (overclocking for example).
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2010, 12:21 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,602

My System Specs

Default

If you want to see more performance, be it decreased load times you need to replace your standard hard drive with an ssd. You will not see noticeable differences with ram speeds if it is not your bottleneck, and even if it is, it'll be very hard to noticeable the difference (we're talking milliseconds)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2010, 01:58 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 1,437

My System Specs

Default

IMO, if games are stuttering on your rig then something must be wrong with the games themselves or possibly driver issues. Your rig should be able to play any game out there on max settings without issue.
__________________


EBAY(http://myworld.ebay.ca/scott0639)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2010, 09:11 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: laval Qc
Posts: 1,072
Default

with the 980x you need better ram 1333 speeds its like having ddr2 but in tripple channel
read write is alot lower than with a 920
to me the difference was huge so i sold my 980x
i still got great ram lol can do 1700mhz cas6 or 2185mhz cas8 1.67v
__________________
maximus IV extreme @ 5.1 1.41v

evga e760 +920 4.8 water5.0+ on phase linx stable
gtx285 tri-sli
dfi ut-p35 lt
e8600@4.6 1.38v
too much ram
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 2, 2010, 06:37 AM
Slik's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Sault Ste Marie On.
Posts: 1,098

My System Specs

Default

Thanks all. I think that I will try 6gigs of faster ram.I know I should have no problems with the rig I have,but I'm having issues none the less.
__________________
Corsair Air 540 -i7 4930k @ 4.4ghz. Liquid cooled-4x4gb G Skill Trident X DDR3@ 2400mhz- Two EVGA Titans SLI - Xonar Phoebus Sound Card-Dell 3008 30" Monitor-Razer Tiamat Headphones-Butt Kicker Gamer-TrackIR 5
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 2, 2010, 10:51 AM
Caldezar's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Burnaby
Posts: 1,722
Default

Sorry, but if any game chops with your system, another 6 Gigs of RAM isn't going to make a lick of difference. But if you have the money to throw away (which it seems you do since everyone's advised against it and you're doing it anyway) then go for it. At the end of the day though, most games have a RAM access limit, and for the majority it's actually only 2GB I believe. That's why 4GB of RAM is plenty for most people.

Im curious to know what game you're running that your machine is having issues with? I see you run a Dell Ultrasharp 3008 WFP 30" monitor. It runs in a native 25x16, which you should not have an issue with. Something to note though; make sure you're not mistaking 'screen tearing' as 'chopiness'. That monitor has an 8ms response time, which is pretty crap for gaming.

*EDIT* Alienware might be part of your issue as well. On top of being way overpriced, they don't use the best quality parts. And if you're sitting on a 'factory' install, you're probably WAY behind the curve on your driver updates.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gaming build. Need processor, mobo, ram, ps. wesamess New Builds 96 February 7, 2010 06:10 AM
A-Data XPG Gaming Series RAM Launched Soultribunal Press Releases & Tech News 1 January 13, 2010 11:53 AM
[FS] SD ram and RD ram.. and mini pci wireless cards shockthebox Buy/Sell & Trade 4 April 27, 2009 10:32 PM
Which ram is best used for gaming slisgrinder RAM 17 January 11, 2009 09:20 AM
Is Patriat Ram Great Ram or not mailaw RAM 2 July 21, 2007 05:48 AM