Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2010, 05:58 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 111
Default RAM timings and voltage

I'm wondering how big a deal RAM timings are, and if there are any of the newer sticks that can be safely pushed to higher voltages. The reason I'm asking is I already have 4GB of OCZ PC-12800 running at 7-7-7-7, but its stock voltage is significantly higher than any of the more recent RAM aimed at i5 and i7. Most of the sticks out there are starting at a clk of 9 - am I likely to notice much of a difference? I'm not benchmarking, mostly just gaming. And yeah - I know I probably won't notice a huge difference going to 8GB - it's just one of those "I want to" things.

About the voltage... without checking the specs on my RAM, I believe the stock voltage is 1.8v, and that they are warrantied for up to 1.95v. I've tried undervolting a couple of times, at 1.5v and 1.65v, and the system definitely isn't stable; at least not with the stock timings. If I try to upgrade to 8GB, I don't want to have to buy 8, and ditch the 4 I have - if that's what is required, I'll just get myself a different upgrade instead.

Oh - I'm running a socket 775 system, so I'm not worried about the sensitivities of the i5 and i7's - just about whether I'm going to kill the new RAM or not.

Ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2010, 06:33 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 1,961

My System Specs

Default Moutherboard

What Board what processor what BIOS?
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2010, 08:41 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 111
Default

ASUS P5E3 Deluxe WiFi-ap@n, running a Q9550. BIOS 1415.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2010, 02:03 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 111
Default

I have a bit of an odd question. Under normal use, I've left my BIOS on "auto" for RAM voltage. Would there be any reason to expect a performance INCREASE if I volt it down to 1.7 volts instead of the 1.8 or 1.9 volt stock setting, and underclocked it to 1333MHz instead of the stock 1600MHz?

I haven't done anything to benchmark it, but web browsing seems snappier, and programs seem to start just a little bit quicker. However - I'm dealing with some sciatica and sleep deprivation, so my perception could be very... inadequate.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2010, 07:56 AM
fishingfanatic's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamilton Ont
Posts: 1,225

My System Specs

Smile Ram timings and voltages

I don't have experience with this either and would be very interested in these opinions as well , Good query.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2010, 09:22 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 111
Default

As an update, I have my RAM at 1.7v, and 1600MHz, and while I haven't run a memtest, everything seems fine. If I were to overvolt a 1.65v kit to, oh, say 1.7v or 1.75v, would you guys expect a problem from that? Any kits you'd recommend that have a tendency to be more compatible with other RAM kits? I know there's no guarantees, but I'd hate to buy another kit, and find my computer won't run with both kits in it. I'm still wondering about how big a deal timings are too.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2010, 12:53 PM
clone63's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bellehole
Posts: 669

My System Specs

Default

Timings well.. Down to it, you probably wouldn't 'see' an improvement in performance.
I recommend getting the same RAM kit if you can to alleviate compatibility issues. If that is not an option, get a kit with closest specs you can find (mhz, cas, voltage etc). Brand wise Kingston and Crucial have a reputation for compatibility, but as for OTHER ram, I'm not sure. I expect the OCZ to be incompatible with the new ram, not the other way around. So I would personally stick to OCZ.
Overvolting 0.1v shouldn't have any terrible consequences, though overall lifetime may diminish a little.

The easiest solution I see is just forget the extra 4gb. With ram prices being zanier than Robin Williams on crack and the little perceivable gain, I would wait. BUT, your choice
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2010, 01:07 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 111
Default

Maybe I'll just have to get myself an SSD drive for myself for my birthday this summer, and just take the $100 to $150 I would have spent on RAM, and add that to the SSD budget. At least the SSD drive would give me a tangible performance difference, instead of just giving me the knowledge that I've maxxed out my RAM.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2010, 01:08 PM
fishingfanatic's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamilton Ont
Posts: 1,225

My System Specs

Smile Ram timings and voltages

I had 4 gb of ram and went to 8 on my 775 quad and the wait times for almost everything dropped dramatically. For me the extra 4gb was well worth the $. Not everyone wants or will even use the full 8gb, but if you like performance and speed, I think that's the way to go.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2010, 01:26 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 1,961

My System Specs

Default I don't Know

I haven,t played with ram settings on a 775 sorry.
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
good ram timings? kuziwk Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 4 January 31, 2010 11:58 AM
RAM timings... little help please. somecanadianguy RAM 3 November 19, 2009 06:14 PM
Timings for my 2x2GB Redlines on a 750i FTW. Also, voltage questions. chouchou Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 15 August 26, 2009 01:04 AM
What is beter, higher ram freq or tighter timings? Gameplaywarrior RAM 30 December 9, 2008 08:36 PM
What do the 2T mean in some ram timings Gameplaywarrior RAM 2 October 17, 2008 04:24 AM