Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old November 7, 2007, 05:44 PM
1Tanker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Cipher View Post
What is D9?
D9 is the highly sought after line of Micron IC's. D9GMH and D9GKX are the 2 best clocking/overclocking chips. Since they clock so well(sometimes 1200MHz+), all the manufacturers try to get their hands on them...to make the high-end(and pricey)RAM. Crucial is a division of Micron....so they tend to get "first dibs" on the good IC's and use them in their RAM(sometimes even value-RAM gets's the good chips).If the other RAM manufacturers can't get the D9's, they'll resort to lesser-performing chips... like ProMOS, Elpida, Samsung, Infineon, etc. These chips will run the manufacturers "stated" speed/timings, but usually don't have much overclocking headroom.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2007, 12:10 PM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,838

My System Specs

Default Mushkin HP-8500

They are a bit of a dark-horse despite their stock timings.

Mushkin HP2-8500 2GB Memory Kit Review

Also at the Mushkin forum people have posted some excellent timings and frequencies with this kit.
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2007, 12:25 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

I llike Mushkin, but stock 2.2 to 2.35V?? I wouldn't run those on my 680i or both they and the mobo would eventually fry.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2007, 12:41 PM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,838

My System Specs

Default yes I know

They put a little warning in the review about this kit running at top voltage and specific MB issues.

Ran well at 1.85v though as well. I think the Crucial BX. 8500 are rated for 2.2v too.

BTW: When they say the system would not boot the memory at 1.8 (default DDR2) does this mean you cant even get to the Bios to set the memory voltage? I ordered this memory a few days ago along with the Asus P5KE-WIFI and Im wondering if the system will post and let me change the voltage in the bios.
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2007, 12:47 PM
qwerty's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Alliston, Ontario
Posts: 250
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Babrbarossa View Post
I llike Mushkin, but stock 2.2 to 2.35V?? I wouldn't run those on my 680i or both they and the mobo would eventually fry.
That is what led to me taking a great many manufacturer's from my list...a hell of a lot of RAM makers require these absurd voltages to run at stock speeds...2.2v for 5-5-5-18 is rediculous and unacceptable to me. Perhaps they are able to pawn this RAM off on the unsuspecting public but I won't be buying any. Same goes for Patriot RAM as well...crazy voltages for stock speeds.

enaberif: I am getting tired of your constant trolling of the posts. I'm not interested in your RAM nor did I ask you about it anywhere in my post so please brag elsewhere.

If you are going to make a statement then show me some proof otherwise keep quiet about things that you don't know about please. I'm growing tired of your constant +1 posts that add nothing of value to a conversation.



Qwerty.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2007, 01:02 PM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,838

My System Specs

Default The Hp-8500 is labelled very conservatively

From review: DDR2-909 @ 4-4-4-12-2T with 1.85V stable, with same timings and 2.2v it broke 1100.

You could always use a memory cooler if your worried about temperatures. I was thinking of getting an ANTEC spotfan if I go above 2.1v.
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2007, 01:06 PM
qwerty's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Alliston, Ontario
Posts: 250
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by magictorch View Post
From review: DDR2-909 @ 4-4-4-12-2T with 1.85V stable, with same timings and 2.2v it broke 1100.

You could always use a memory cooler if your worried about temperatures. I was thinking of getting an ANTEC spotfan if I go above 2.1v.
Hrm, yes I was also looking at this item I was also looking at the OCZ XTC Ram cooler.
I read some decent reviews of this product....

Does anyone have experience with this item?
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2007, 01:43 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

They all work pretty much the same, I think- just get one that's not noisy like the obnoxious "Coolit". I hear alot of raves about the antec spotfan although I don't know how quiet it is. I'm the last one to worry too much about silence, but my rsm cooler is almost noisier than all of my radiator fans put together- From what I have found around the web, It seems that ram coolers help somewhat but using 2.3 is still pretty risky over the long term.

Last edited by Babrbarossa; November 11, 2007 at 03:08 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2007, 01:58 PM
qwerty's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Alliston, Ontario
Posts: 250
Default

Hrm...yeah Babrbarossa that's what I figure as well. It cannot do anything to help prolong the life of your RAM to have it running so hot all the time.
Oh and about the fans...yeah, everything I read about the Antec cool spotfan has been very positive and have yet to find anything real negative about it. Seems like a real solid performer all 'round.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2007, 02:13 PM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,838

My System Specs

Default spotfan

one of the lads has put some casepics with one in. Cant remember who, they look very nice!
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: DDR2 2x2gb kit of ram!! Flintblade Buy/Sell & Trade 0 February 26, 2008 04:13 PM
WTB: DDR2 Ram and a AM2 Motherboard/CPU Flintblade Buy/Sell & Trade 4 February 21, 2008 07:33 PM
OCZ DDR2 Question BALISTX RAM 7 September 27, 2007 11:44 PM
Kingston Releases DDR2-1150 and DDR2-1200 Modules Gav RAM 6 May 1, 2007 05:54 PM