Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2010, 03:15 PM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,586
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oversized Rooster View Post
Secondly, 4GB is an insufficient amount of RAM so you'd need to spend $400+ if you want that special kit
You lost me here
__________________
DEAD CA$H
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2010, 03:25 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Acton, Ont
Posts: 878
Default

Now im confused...

Sell me 8gb of DDR3, Just to buy 4..?

IS the ram i bought that Bad LOL?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2010, 03:42 PM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,586
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chromey View Post
Now im confused...

Sell me 8gb of DDR3, Just to buy 4..?

IS the ram i bought that Bad LOL?
Lol no. Like I said earlier "the looks ofthis build are a big deal". The Mushkin I sold you just do not appeal to me. That's why I linked the Corsairs - the design is nice.
__________________
DEAD CA$H
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2010, 06:04 PM
Oversized Rooster's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 609

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AmuseMe View Post
You lost me here
What I mean is you need 8GB for a proper high performance PC and if you were buying this new $200 G.Skill kit, that means you'd need to shell out $400 or more. (not worth it)
__________________
Main: Intel 2600K @ 4.8GHz | Gigabyte P67A-UD7-B3 | 16GB Corsair DDR3-2000 | 2 x 240GB Corsair Force 3 in RAID1 | 2 x 4TB Hitachi 7K4000 | 3 x 2TB WD Caviar Black | Antec 1200 | Seasonic XP-860 Platinum | 2GB GTX 670 | 2 x 27" Asus VE278Q | Asus Essence ST | Win7 Pro 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2010, 06:18 PM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,586
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oversized Rooster View Post
What I mean is you need 8GB for a proper high performance PC and if you were buying this new $200 G.Skill kit, that means you'd need to shell out $400 or more. (not worth it)
What do you mean you need 8GB of RAM for a high performance PC? Having more RAM limits your overclocking, not to mention that not many people utilize 8GB
__________________
DEAD CA$H
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2010, 06:46 PM
Raserei408's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: South of the border
Posts: 495
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AmuseMe View Post
What do you mean you need 8GB of RAM for a high performance PC? Having more RAM limits your overclocking, not to mention that not many people utilize 8GB
+1. Though there are people that will use more than 4 (and some that will use up to 8) for most 4GB is enough. Either way, 6GB (either 3x2GB or 2x2GB + 2x1GB is more than enough unless you're doing some hardcore editing.
__________________
"If dancing is sure to result in failure then you must dance anyway."
Lo Mein said that, and I think he knows a little more about dancing than I do pal, because he invented it! Then he perfected it so that no man could best him in the club of honor.
Then he used his prize money to buy two of every whore on Earth. Then he herded them all onto a boat, then they all beat the crap out of every single one of him.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2010, 08:07 PM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,586
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raserei408 View Post
+1. Though there are people that will use more than 4 (and some that will use up to 8) for most 4GB is enough. Either way, 6GB (either 3x2GB or 2x2GB + 2x1GB is more than enough unless you're doing some hardcore editing.
I have nor intend to do any media editing. I might rip some CDs and DVDs to my HDD, but won't edit them. 4GB is good for me
__________________
DEAD CA$H
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2010, 03:33 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: laval Qc
Posts: 1,072
Default

that corsair crap is overrated
i bought a set of adata 2k for rampage extreme
its more suited for p55 did cas8 2000mhz passed memtest
personally i like the dominator gt or the perfect storm
__________________
maximus IV extreme @ 5.1 1.41v

evga e760 +920 4.8 water5.0+ on phase linx stable
gtx285 tri-sli
dfi ut-p35 lt
e8600@4.6 1.38v
too much ram
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2010, 04:49 AM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,586
Default

Noob question incoming!: what is "cas"? Like cas8 - in ram.
__________________
DEAD CA$H
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2010, 12:30 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Well if I can explain it really simple. Correct me if I am wrong. a CAS is...is really well explained here.
CAS latency and other memory timings explained - TechSpot OpenBoards
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] 4GB DDR3 kit. rai_polo Buy/Sell & Trade 2 August 31, 2009 07:28 AM
Will tri-chanel ram sticks work in a dewl-chanel configeration? Gameplaywarrior RAM 7 July 20, 2009 06:22 PM
[FS] Phenom II 925/945 M3N72-D 4GB DDR3 4GB DD2 EP35-DS3R 2x HD 2900XT *priced to move* Linus Buy/Sell & Trade 7 May 9, 2009 05:34 PM
FS: Rampage Extreme, 4GB CSX Diablo DDR3 2000, 4GB OCZ Gold DDR3 1600MHz, E8600 zlojack Buy/Sell & Trade 13 November 15, 2008 03:30 PM
Team Group Introduces DDR3-1800 & DDR3-2000 4GB Memory Kits MAC Press Releases & Tech News 0 September 17, 2008 07:03 PM