Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2007, 08:16 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kandorf View Post
Thank you all for the input. :) I have completed the purchase order from DirectCanada so I should have my system here by sometime next week! I'm super excited and happy, yet depressed about spending so much money! haha

Anyways, here are on the specs on what I decided in the end ... things changed a bit from the last time I posted my desires.

[Core Components]
- Gigabyte 3D Aurora 570 ATX Full Tower
- Corsair HX620
- Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
- Intel Core 2 Duo E6750
- Patriot Extreme Performance 2x1GB DDR2-800 CL4
- Asus Radeon x1950 Pro 256MB GDDR3
- Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 500GB SATA2
- Samsung SH-S183L SATA DVD Burner w/ Lightscribe
- Windows Vista Home Premium

[Other Stuff]
- Acer AL2016WBBD 20IN Widescreen
- Edifier M3300 2.1 Speakers
- Saitek Eclipse Keyboard
- Razer DeathAdder Gaming Mouse
- Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
- Arctic Cooling 120mm Fan 1000RPM 37CFM 22DBA
- Corsair Flash Voyager 4GB

My initial $1500 budget got surpassed by over $100, but I'll survive.

I want to thank everyone again for all of your help and support. I couldn't have selected the quality components I did (or hope I did) without your guys advise and help. No bashing the Vista! I know XP beats it out performance wise right now ... but drivers and updates for Vista will come in time ... then I'll be laughing at you. hehe :) I also know the video card isn't super uber, but I plan to upgrade that for a good DX10 card sometime next year. Hopefully by then drivers will be improved, more/better dx10 games will be out, and a good card can be had for cheaper then current prices. Here's to hoping for a $250 8800GTS 640mb! lol
I would have changed a few things but either way good looking system.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old September 29, 2007, 06:32 PM
Shadowed's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 238
Default Check for 2.2v jumper

Some motherboards have a 2.2v jumper.
I am not sure if the jumper is just to allow you to set higher ram voltage in the bios or if it will actually set the voltage to 2.2v on its own.
Just a thought.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old October 26, 2007, 08:28 PM
omgwtf's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,904
Default

I'm thinking of buying another pair of Ocz Platinum 2x1gb..should i be worried of some stuff going bad?..from what i've heard this mobo supports till 1.9 or 2.0 and has some problems with these memory chips.
__________________
Memento mori
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Buying New Ram: OCZ vs Corsair tgraszat14 RAM 2 February 5, 2008 10:27 AM
Urgent- Need Advice Tonight tom.mullie Video Cards 6 February 4, 2008 08:50 AM
New to OC and buying a new system... need advice Spblue Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 3 December 5, 2007 10:21 AM
Which 2 GB set is better, Might get tonight! bushwickbill RAM 3 September 27, 2007 07:27 PM
We got rob tonight! Patriote Off Topic 9 April 19, 2007 08:56 AM