Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2009, 03:50 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Montreal, Qc
Posts: 111

My System Specs

Default 2x4GB... Am I missing something?

I was just thinking of a RAM upgrade and I figured I could get 2x4GB (for a total of 12GB with the 4GB I have now) to add to my system. Except I quickly changed my mind when I saw the tag price.

The cheapest I could find was around $450 at newegg. Considering you can get a 2X2 kit for around $80 easily these days, aren't those prices a bit insane? I mean, I was expecting to pay double easily or something like that, but wow, we're talking 4 times the price per GB here. Heck, at work we buy server-grade IBM 8GB sticks for little more than that.

I haven't paid much attention to consumer RAM prices in the last year, but is it just me or are the 2x4GB kits really overpriced right now?
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2009, 03:53 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spblue View Post
I was just thinking of a RAM upgrade and I figured I could get 2x4GB (for a total of 12GB with the 4GB I have now) to add to my system. Except I quickly changed my mind when I saw the tag price.

The cheapest I could find was around $450 at newegg. Considering you can get a 2X2 kit for around $80 easily these days, aren't those prices a bit insane? I mean, I was expecting to pay double easily or something like that, but wow, we're talking 4 times the price per GB here. Heck, at work we buy server-grade IBM 8GB sticks for little more than that.

I haven't paid much attention to consumer RAM prices in the last year, but is it just me or are the 2x4GB kits really overpriced right now?
ddr2 memory is the way of the dodo
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2009, 03:56 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,250

My System Specs

Default

NCIX.com - Buy G.SKILL F2-6400CL5D-8GBPQ Blue 8GB 2X4GB PC2-6400 DDR2-800 240PIN DIMM Dual Channel Memory Kit - F2-6400CL5D-8GBPQ In Canada.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2009, 03:59 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Montreal, Qc
Posts: 111

My System Specs

Default

I've looked at DDR3 as well (would have given me an excuse to upgrade to an i5 or i7 ), but it's no better there... I guess I'm gonna have to wait a few months or get another 2x2 in the meantime.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 31, 2010, 12:50 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Southern Ontario
Posts: 37
Default

8Gb is already too much for any desktop app really.

I can turn pagefile off completely with 8gb and never run out of ram.
__________________
Hardware
-Core i5 750 @ 3.5Ghz (175x20)
-Scythe Zipang 2
-4x2Gb DDR3 (1050@5-5-5-15, 1.65v)
-Gigabyte P55-UD2
-EVGA GTX 260, Corsair 550VX, mATX
Audio/Video
-Samsung LN32A550 32" 1080p LCD
-Asus Xonar Essence STX
-Denon AH-D2000
-Sony STR-DE197 -> Polk Audio M10

Desktop Picture
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 31, 2010, 03:40 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

hell i turn page file off with 3 gigs and never had a problem yet
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 31, 2010, 10:25 PM
tangrisser's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Metro Vancouver
Posts: 163
Default

Think of it this way.

You are in the market for USB Flash Drive.


You need total of 32GB.

It's usually cheaper to buy 8x4GB USB Flash Drive than to buy a single 32GB USB Flash Drive.

(Unless of course, the 32GB goes on under-the-cost, rock bottom price sale)

Same idea here, it's just cheaper to put 16 of 1Gb(2Gb, if they are single sided) chips than to put 16 of 2Gb(4Gb) modules

Also keep in mind, on average, most users do NOT require 8GB of RAM in two sticks. Most of them are happy to have 4 sticks of 2GB RAM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2010, 11:11 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 95
Default

I like my 8gb of ram, page-file is gone for me. Reason I got it is because if something ever comes out that needs 8gb of ram, I'll be ready for it.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What Am I Missing? El_Fiendo Off Topic 8 October 14, 2009 06:39 PM
Find missing drivers here: Squeetard O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 August 24, 2009 10:21 AM
Cores missing! BT! CPU's and Motherboards 4 February 10, 2009 05:26 PM
'View All' not there? or am I missing it. biff Suggestions & Feedback 3 September 22, 2008 12:38 PM
missing wire ? Jim Troubleshooting 5 May 31, 2007 05:02 PM