Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 25, 2009, 07:54 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Posts: 245
Default Overclock on DDR3 RAM With i7

I'm currently in the midst of overclocking my computer, and I'm a little unsure of how to read the overclock on my RAM. I've posted screen shots, and I was hoping people would be able to inform me of what clock speed my ram is ACTUALLY running at. EVGA tuner shows it running at 987 mhz, but if I understand correctly, that only shows half the speed?

if I work out the math:

QPI - 200
Multiplier 20x
RAM ratio: 2:10

so the math goes as follows QPI/2 * ram divider = (200/2) * 10 = 2000 mhz

That confirms what I thought about the EVGA tuner showing me half of the speed.

Am I right? or am I reading this wrong?




Last edited by quikgp; November 25, 2009 at 08:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 26, 2009, 01:56 AM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

Just for the record, the 200 is your system base clock (BCLK), while your QPI is the box labelled "QPI Link".

EVGA's tuner is based on the venerable CPU-Z program, and is actually quite accurate. Your actual memory speed is ~1000MHz, but because it's Dual Data Rate memory, the effective speed is ~2000MHz. Most marketing (and forum discussion, for that matter) uses the effective speed, since it sounds much more impressive and sells better.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 26, 2009, 04:41 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Posts: 245
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MpG View Post
Just for the record, the 200 is your system base clock (BCLK), while your QPI is the box labelled "QPI Link".

EVGA's tuner is based on the venerable CPU-Z program, and is actually quite accurate. Your actual memory speed is ~1000MHz, but because it's Dual Data Rate memory, the effective speed is ~2000MHz. Most marketing (and forum discussion, for that matter) uses the effective speed, since it sounds much more impressive and sells better.
Thanks MPG, so if I understand you correctly, when purchasing ram rated at 1600mhz, this is the EFFECTIVE SPEED and therefore, under CPU-z will measure ~800 MHZ?

So my Actual speed is ~1000mhz, making my effective speed ~2000 mhz (which is ~400mhz higher than the spec'd clock)?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 26, 2009, 05:37 AM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by quikgp View Post
Thanks MPG, so if I understand you correctly, when purchasing ram rated at 1600mhz, this is the EFFECTIVE SPEED and therefore, under CPU-z will measure ~800 MHZ?

So my Actual speed is ~1000mhz, making my effective speed ~2000 mhz (which is ~400mhz higher than the spec'd clock)?
You got it.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 26, 2009, 07:22 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Posts: 245
Default

Seems like computer parts vendors will do anything to make things way more confusing then they need to be. but, hey, I'll take the fact that I got an extra ~200 mhz out of my ram! mushkin always seems to deliver
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 11, 2009, 03:52 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Burlington,Ontario
Posts: 54
Default

Maybe your desktop wallpaper is taking away your extra ram?? :-))
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2009, 11:59 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Running spec 1600 Mhz Memory at 2000 Mhz is extremely amazing at that Bclk (if its indeed stable)...try running LinX 20 passes Max Memory Test and let us know at which "cycle" you error out....

Posting and getting to Windows Desktop is one thing.....getting through 20 - 30 passes of LinX is a whole new ball game
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] SD ram and RD ram.. and mini pci wireless cards shockthebox Buy/Sell & Trade 4 April 27, 2009 09:32 PM
How can I overclock my ram on EVGA X58? appplejack RAM 2 December 9, 2008 10:09 PM
Ram overclock and Boinc matsta31 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 3 October 6, 2008 07:38 AM
ram overclock Tazer-[X] RAM 13 August 3, 2008 09:54 AM
How does this ram overclock? klaiboi RAM 7 March 23, 2008 05:42 PM