Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old October 23, 2009, 07:19 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geeti View Post
so should i do it>? (get the 1200)
No, it's not worth it.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old October 23, 2009, 10:08 PM
HaDeS
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Jeez, those same wc'ed sticks.

Plainly put? No, they are not worth it.
I completely disagree with that statement as an Owner of this ram. it's actually very very good. It's running just as I expected it would. Stable until 1200mhz... so for over clocking it really works quite well to be honest.

This Current OC is completely stable and has been for several days.



I forgot to add the ram... it was running at around 1064 with 5-5-5-etc timings

Last edited by HaDeS; October 24, 2009 at 09:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old October 23, 2009, 11:38 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: laval Qc
Posts: 1,072
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geeti View Post
so should i do it>? (get the 1200) or get kingston hyper x 800mhz 4-4-4-12 1.95v 4gig for 69.99 + tax???

get the low voltage memory pc2-8500
with some luck they will hit 1200
80$
PCV Online - OCZ Blade Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) Low Voltage Desktop Memory Model OCZ2B1066LV4GK - Desktop Memory
__________________
maximus IV extreme @ 5.1 1.41v

evga e760 +920 4.8 water5.0+ on phase linx stable
gtx285 tri-sli
dfi ut-p35 lt
e8600@4.6 1.38v
too much ram
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2009, 03:59 PM
headsh0t's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 2,568

My System Specs

Default

With the price of DDR2 RAM at what it is, why not get 1200 for an extra $10? You could underclock it if you want.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2009, 09:21 PM
HaDeS
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

exactly.. its cheap... blow it up buy more.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2009, 09:28 PM
HaDeS
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

i gaurantee the flex will goto 1200mhz
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old October 25, 2009, 11:03 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 35
Default

I bought mushkin ram 4gig 2x2gig sticks and there preety sick I haven't bench marked yet but I have oc the ram to 900 and fsb to 450. When ever the new call of duty comes out ill kick it up to 500 fsb and c how the ram likes to handle that. The timings are 5-4-4-12 and voltage I set to 1.8. With this ram I noticed my northbridge runs cooler compared to the 2x1gig sticks of corsair 1066 5-5-5-15 2.1V. I would recomend this ram to any one especialy any one with a rampage formula mobo because the timings don't go bipolar on this ram/mobo combination. Also the id for ram is 996587.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] DDR2 PC2-6400 machiavelli Buy/Sell & Trade 0 September 20, 2009 06:51 PM
[WTB] 2X2GB DDR2 PC2-6400 or PC2-8800 Dadi_oh Buy/Sell & Trade 2 July 18, 2009 12:12 AM
[FS] Crucial Ballistix PC2-8500 DDR2 4GB 4X1GB DDR2-1066 renoracer Buy/Sell & Trade 4 December 4, 2008 09:25 AM
Mushkin Redline PC2 DDR2 8000 Series rjbarker RAM 9 April 17, 2008 09:10 AM
OC Report :: Buffalo FireStix 2x1GB PC2-9600 C5 3oh6 Member Reviews 16 July 19, 2007 08:09 PM