Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old October 20, 2009, 02:55 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,106

My System Specs

Default

what are you running for OS?

why not just get some used 4gb DDR2 1000mhz for now

and yea 800mhz vs 1066mhz is hardly noticeable, maybe a few extra points in benchmarks.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old October 20, 2009, 04:10 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 35
Default

Im running windows 7 64bit so I guess anything over 800 is just a waste of money??? how high can 800mhz ddr2 sticks clock too? and what are some really good low latency/ voltage ones to buy?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old October 20, 2009, 04:23 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,638
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geeti View Post
Im running windows 7 64bit so I guess anything over 800 is just a waste of money??? how high can 800mhz ddr2 sticks clock too? and what are some really good low latency/ voltage ones to buy?
low latency again is a joke unless your a benchmark junkie.
voltages? most run between 1.9 to 2.1v
ddr2 800 can go upto 900mhz and sometimes higher depending on brand.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old October 20, 2009, 04:30 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 35
Default

Allright I got these choices lined up Kingston HyperX - Memory - 4 GB 4-4-4-12 at 1.9V (69.00 without tax), G.SKILL PK Series DDR2 1066MHz 5-5-5-15 at 2.0-2.1V (79.00 without tax) I think the kingston is good? low price good performance and reliable company???
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old October 20, 2009, 07:09 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,106

My System Specs

Default

For a Asus board i won't get G.SKILL rams, but thats just my opinion.

another thing to look for before buy rams are there physical sizes. Would they be in the way of after market CPU cooling? would it fit in slot in A1-A2?
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old October 20, 2009, 07:17 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5ILVgeARX View Post
For a Asus board i won't get G.SKILL rams, but thats just my opinion.
Why not? I haven't heard of any issues with G.Skill RAM and ASUS boards, and I've had no trouble with my G.Skill kit and P5Q Pro.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old October 20, 2009, 10:03 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: laval Qc
Posts: 1,072
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Unless you have something to take advantage of it.

You won't notice any difference between 800-1200

Trust me I know.
board needs to be @ high fsb
then even you would notice ;)
__________________
maximus IV extreme @ 5.1 1.41v

evga e760 +920 4.8 water5.0+ on phase linx stable
gtx285 tri-sli
dfi ut-p35 lt
e8600@4.6 1.38v
too much ram
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old October 20, 2009, 10:52 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,638
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zsamz_ View Post
board needs to be @ high fsb
then even you would notice ;)
Yah and unless your benchmarking very rarely will people EVER be at a high fsb.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2009, 04:16 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: laval Qc
Posts: 1,072
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Yah and unless your benchmarking very rarely will people EVER be at a high fsb.

benchin is 600fsb+
500+ is for 24/7
i can prime my rampage extreme @ 600fsb lol
__________________
maximus IV extreme @ 5.1 1.41v

evga e760 +920 4.8 water5.0+ on phase linx stable
gtx285 tri-sli
dfi ut-p35 lt
e8600@4.6 1.38v
too much ram
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old October 23, 2009, 04:21 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 35
Default

so should i do it>? (get the 1200) or get kingston hyper x 800mhz 4-4-4-12 1.95v 4gig for 69.99 + tax???
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] DDR2 PC2-6400 machiavelli Buy/Sell & Trade 0 September 20, 2009 05:51 PM
[WTB] 2X2GB DDR2 PC2-6400 or PC2-8800 Dadi_oh Buy/Sell & Trade 2 July 17, 2009 11:12 PM
[FS] Crucial Ballistix PC2-8500 DDR2 4GB 4X1GB DDR2-1066 renoracer Buy/Sell & Trade 4 December 4, 2008 08:25 AM
Mushkin Redline PC2 DDR2 8000 Series rjbarker RAM 9 April 17, 2008 08:10 AM
OC Report :: Buffalo FireStix 2x1GB PC2-9600 C5 3oh6 Member Reviews 16 July 19, 2007 07:09 PM