Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2009, 07:06 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 103
Default ddr2: buy now or wait?

I had a 2gb kit, one stick just died one me.
At the moment, i don't really need more ram since the most intensive app i run is Warcraft3(dota :D)
However i might play MW2, borderlands etc in the future. And due the rising price of DDR2, should i buy a ram now or when i need it in a few months? used or new?

thanks
__________________
GA-965P-DS3 rev3.3 | C2D E6550 + TRUE | eVGA 9800GTX+ | Enermax Liberty 500W | Corsair PC2 800MHz 4x1024MB |CM RC-690 |WD 3200AAKS | W7 Pro 64
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2009, 07:07 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,592
Default

buy used.

ddr2 prices are redonkulous.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2009, 07:09 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,624

My System Specs

Default

Definitely buy now. DDR2 seems to be getting only more and more expensive.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2009, 07:16 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,075

My System Specs

Default

You should be able to find a decent 4gb set for $40-50 used. I did.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2009, 07:30 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,891

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarJ View Post
You should be able to find a decent 4gb set for $40-50 used. I did.
And you used to be able to get DDR2-1000 G.SKILLs for $50 new

Ah well, at least DDR3 prices are dropping so when I get to upgrading, RAM should be cheap again.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2009, 07:34 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 103
Default

thanks all for your input

check this out if you got something for me: DDR2 RAM 2GB kit or 4GB kit
__________________
GA-965P-DS3 rev3.3 | C2D E6550 + TRUE | eVGA 9800GTX+ | Enermax Liberty 500W | Corsair PC2 800MHz 4x1024MB |CM RC-690 |WD 3200AAKS | W7 Pro 64
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2009, 09:05 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: laval Qc
Posts: 1,072
Default

if you find it cheap buy it
soon it will be alot more expensive
__________________
maximus IV extreme @ 5.1 1.41v

evga e760 +920 4.8 water5.0+ on phase linx stable
gtx285 tri-sli
dfi ut-p35 lt
e8600@4.6 1.38v
too much ram
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2009, 05:27 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,065

My System Specs

Default

I'm gonna have to agree, get it now while you can :)

Regards,
ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2009, 08:06 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 409

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AFG34 View Post
I had a 2gb kit, one stick just died one me.
Do they have life time warranty? I think most rams do.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2009, 06:35 AM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Tillsonburg, Ontario
Posts: 913

My System Specs

Default

Most RAM does have lifetime warranty so that's definitely an option. I would also recommend looking for used RAM and buying it just make sure you attempt to get receipt etc so you can RMA it if there are any issues.

Best of luck :)
__________________


Comp1 (Mine) : ASUS P9X79 LE, 3960X, 16GB Corsair Vengence 1333, PNY 770 4GB, OCZ Vertex3 240GB, OCZ Vertex3 480GB, 600GB VelociRaptor, Corsair 1000HX, Cool Master Cosmos 2

Comp2 (Wife's) : ASUS Sabertooth P67, i7 2700K, 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1866, 1TB HD, 2TB HD, EVGA 660, Corsair 1000HX, HAF 922

Comp3 (Kids) : ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2700K, 8GB 1866 GSkill, Gigabyte 770, Crucial M4 120GB, OCZ Vertex3 240GB,1TB WD Black, Antec 850W, Antec 120
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Build or Wait??? jcmaz New Builds 6 July 22, 2009 09:12 AM
Buy now or wait? HermesĄ˘ New Builds 9 December 22, 2008 10:26 PM
Buy 9550 Quad or wait for Nehalem i7's? chouchou CPU's and Motherboards 8 October 23, 2008 05:00 AM
now for time to buy lcd or wait? CTA Display Units 32 October 14, 2008 06:54 PM
finally but WaiT HELP Rapid-X Troubleshooting 2 August 9, 2008 06:41 PM