Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2009, 06:37 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Edmonton Ab
Posts: 470

My System Specs

Default DDR 3 4Gig stick

Are there triple channel 4 Gig sticks of DDR3 out there? all i can find is dual channel and quad channel. I want 24 gigs of triple channel glory.
__________________
Death to Apple
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2009, 07:35 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

OCZ has a 3x4GB kit listed, but I don't know if anyone stocks it.

I'm a little surprised, actually. You'd think there'd be a bit of a market for people who wanted 3x4GB kits, just for the hell of it.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2009, 08:05 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Edmonton Ab
Posts: 470

My System Specs

Default

You would think eh?
__________________
Death to Apple
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2009, 03:52 AM
CanadaRox's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Scarborough (Toronto)
Posts: 614
Default

What exactly are you running that requires >6GB of RAM. Unless you are running a ton of VMs or video encoding 6GB should give you plenty of RAM.
__________________
Project: Black and White
i7 920 D0 | 3 x 2GB DDR3 | EVGA X58 SLI LE
XFX 4890 | Corsair HX750 | Corsair Obsidian
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2009, 08:50 AM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,483

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CanadaRox View Post
What exactly are you running that requires >6GB of RAM. Unless you are running a ton of VMs or video encoding 6GB should give you plenty of RAM.
Who cares. People always bring this argument up as a refute to an upgrade. Why do you have a 920? Unless you do a ton of VM's or Video encoding, a C2D should give you plenty of power.

Maybe he does alot of 'Shop. Or CAD. There is plenty of programs out there that will utilize as much ram as you throw at them. Or maybe its just for e-peen glory. *shrug* Its his cash.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2009, 10:34 AM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Tillsonburg, Ontario
Posts: 912

My System Specs

Default

Who doesn't like to watch their e-peen grow :) I haven't personally seen any kits but I'd check the manufacturing sites themselves OCZ Technology | Welcome! etc...

I'd love to have 12GB of DDR3 myself :)
__________________


Comp1 (Mine) : ASUS P9X79 LE, 3960X, 16GB Corsair Vengence 1333, PNY 770 4GB, OCZ Vertex3 240GB, OCZ Vertex3 480GB, 600GB VelociRaptor, Corsair 1000HX, Cool Master Cosmos 2

Comp2 (Wife's) : ASUS Sabertooth P67, i7 2700K, 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1866, 1TB HD, 2TB HD, EVGA 660, Corsair 1000HX, HAF 922

Comp3 (Kids) : ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2700K, 8GB 1866 GSkill, Gigabyte 770, Crucial M4 120GB, OCZ Vertex3 240GB,1TB WD Black, Antec 850W, Antec 120
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2009, 10:48 AM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Tillsonburg, Ontario
Posts: 912

My System Specs

Default

Who doesn't like to watch their e-peen grow :) I haven't personally seen any kits but I'd check the manufacturing sites themselves OCZ Technology | Welcome! etc...

I'd love to have 12GB of DDR3 myself :)
__________________


Comp1 (Mine) : ASUS P9X79 LE, 3960X, 16GB Corsair Vengence 1333, PNY 770 4GB, OCZ Vertex3 240GB, OCZ Vertex3 480GB, 600GB VelociRaptor, Corsair 1000HX, Cool Master Cosmos 2

Comp2 (Wife's) : ASUS Sabertooth P67, i7 2700K, 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1866, 1TB HD, 2TB HD, EVGA 660, Corsair 1000HX, HAF 922

Comp3 (Kids) : ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2700K, 8GB 1866 GSkill, Gigabyte 770, Crucial M4 120GB, OCZ Vertex3 240GB,1TB WD Black, Antec 850W, Antec 120
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2009, 11:07 AM
bissa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Kelowna BC
Posts: 1,160

My System Specs

Default

12 gigs is nice, but 24 is even better. and ya, for hardcore rendering or CAD you can use that.
__________________
Strong like hummingbird, swift like oak.

I'm sorry july, I couldn't see you behind all that feruary.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2009, 11:38 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Edmonton Ab
Posts: 470

My System Specs

Default

I want to run CAD. I have someone showing me how to use it. and as it stands. my current system crashes under it. even at stock!
__________________
Death to Apple
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2009, 12:51 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

Do you have pagefile turned off or set too small? Because insufficient memory will cause CAD performance to tank brutally, but you shouldn't be seeing crashes. That's a sign of system instability, whether it's hardware or software related is another question entirely.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
server AND pc stick on shutdown rob123 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 April 1, 2009 08:21 PM
[WTB] Help me out, I need some DDR, yes DDR not DDR2 ram elec999 Buy/Sell & Trade 4 March 27, 2009 07:37 AM
64 bit/4gig ram system only using 2 gigs tzetsin Troubleshooting 10 September 21, 2008 02:29 PM
Should I stick with my 8800gts 512mb or no jasonmoreau Video Cards 3 May 20, 2008 02:04 PM
WTB: memory stick... omgwtf Buy/Sell & Trade 0 February 5, 2008 05:16 PM