Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2009, 12:51 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default i7 memory question...

Today I received a 2x2GB Crucial DDR3 kit (thanks Skyllz!).
Problem is, I don't have the rest of the parts yet for the build the it's going in to.

Specs on the RAM:
Crucial Ballistix 4GB kit
BL2KIT25664BA
1336 4GB
2x2GB
PC3-10600
DDR3-1333
CL 6-6-6-20
1.8V

Sorry if this is a stupid question, but can I test this kit out in my i7 rig without harming anything?
I really only want to make sure the sticks work... maybe run Memtest...
I've read a lot of stuff that says keep DRAM within 0.5V of QPI/Vtt and you'll be fine.
Some others still say don't take the chance and just keep DRAM 1.65V or lower.

Who here has experience running RAM over 1.65V on an i7 system?
Can I pop this RAM in and run it at 1.8V if I set QPI/Vtt to 1.3V?

Last edited by somecanadianguy; October 5, 2009 at 01:46 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2009, 01:51 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

Personally, I'd run it at 1066 to start, and then see what you can do with 1.65V will take you. Many 2x2GB kits are spec-ed for FSB-era chipsets, which need more voltage to run the same timings and speed.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2009, 01:56 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

The build they are for will be Athlon II X4 620 + Gigabyte GA-MA785GMT-UD2H.
CPU and mobo are on the way... still need some other parts.
I just want to test the RAM and make sure both sticks work.
I trust Skyllz when he says they work, but you never know what may happen during shipping...

If they are able to pass Memtest @ 1066 will it be safe to say they're fine and should work at their rated speed?
I could wait until I get the rest of the parts, but likely won't have everything until the end of the month.
Just being impatient...

I know I've seen people running DRAM over 1.65V on i7 systems, but don't know if testing a couple sticks of RAM is worth any risk.

Last edited by somecanadianguy; October 5, 2009 at 04:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SLI Memory Question. GT_Forthelulz Video Cards 1 August 16, 2009 12:50 AM
Question about installed memory on x58 mobo. Answerzz RAM 8 February 14, 2009 09:39 PM
Question about Memory Dividers BALISTX RAM 2 November 27, 2008 01:36 AM
Memory question... encorp RAM 10 May 12, 2008 05:54 PM
memory question please?!?!?! bushwickbill RAM 3 September 26, 2007 07:26 PM