Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2009, 07:18 AM
Cowboy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,375
Default Teach me about ddr3

Howdy all,

I was looking at going and setting up an i5 mATX rig, and the only thing left for me to figure out is what ram to get for it.

I know nothing about ddr3 and what speeds are considered "good" and what timings are considered "good". I will be overclocking the i5, and I might even take my phase cooler to it. But I will not be making any extreme overclocks 24/7... My 24/7 OC is going to be a mild-moderate one for stability and temps.

I will most likely be getting 4 gbs of ram, most likely only getting 2 sticks ATM...

Would like to get a decent performing set, that doesn't cost a whole lot. And it has to look half-decent since it'll be in my Acrylic case.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2009, 07:38 AM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,684

My System Specs

Default

DDR3 is the next speed level in SDRAM technology. Here is a good link to compare DDR3 vs. DDR2 technology. It is basically able double the speed of DDR2 and beyond.

In terms of speed, faster is better, but for the price of getting the fastest, it really isn't worth it all that much to buy it. The performance increase is minimal, if you've read 3oh6's reviews on the OCZ Blade 16000 and 17000 kits. I've been more than happy with DDR3-1600 (PC3-12800). Your well known Corsair, Mushkin and OCZ brands have excellent, modest speed RAM kits for you. I personally have the OCZ3P1600LV6GK kit and has done wonders for me for the excellent price that it was. Mind you, I have i7, so I could use triple channel. Dual channel kits are the same, just one stick less.

Also take a look at the QVL memory list for your motherboard to guarantee you won't have any problems. Usually, there is nothing to worry about these days though.

HTH.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2009, 08:43 AM
Cowboy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,375
Default

K thanks, do you mind if I find a few sets of ram and post them here for your thoughts?

edit: Why don't I just buy a triple channel kit and use all 3 sticks? I see that dual channel and triple channel kits do not have a large difference in costs, and triple channel kits seem to be a really good value.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2009, 08:51 AM
Oversized Rooster's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 610

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cowboy View Post
K thanks, do you mind if I find a few sets of ram and post them here for your thoughts?

edit: Why don't I just buy a triple channel kit and use all 3 sticks? I see that dual channel and triple channel kits do not have a large difference in costs, and triple channel kits seem to be a really good value.
Only use the triple channel kits on an i7 system! They WILL work on AMD AM3, Intel i5 and some older platforms but you will not be getting the benefit of dual-channel RAM.

Unless you have an i7 system, you should get an even amount of memory sticks to run them in dual-channel (added performance).
__________________
Machine: Intel 6800K | Asus X99-E | 32GB Corsair DDR4-2666 | 500GB Samsung 960 EVO NVMe | 6TB WD Black | 2 x 4TB Hitachi 7K4000 | Corsair 750D | Seasonic XP-860 Platinum | 4GB GTX 970 G1 Windforce | 2 x 27" Samsung S27D390HS PLS | Win10 Pro 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2009, 08:53 AM
Cowboy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,375
Default

What if I get a triple channel kit and only use 2 sticks? either sell the other one or keep it for troubleshooting?
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2009, 09:25 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 4,020
Default

That'll work too. Look for some ddr3-1600mhz in the 8-8-8-24 timing range. The sweet spot for price performance.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] Patriot Viper Extreme Performance 2GB DDR3 2X1GB PC3-16000 DDR3-2000 CL 9-9-9-24 EPP2 Frank Booth Buy/Sell & Trade 2 April 24, 2009 09:42 AM
[FS] FS: 2x1gb OCZ ddr3-1600 2x2gb Patriot ddr3-1600 Razer copperhead MarcusFoX Buy/Sell & Trade 8 February 14, 2009 10:45 AM
FS: Rampage Extreme, 4GB CSX Diablo DDR3 2000, 4GB OCZ Gold DDR3 1600MHz, E8600 zlojack Buy/Sell & Trade 13 November 15, 2008 04:30 PM
Team Group Introduces DDR3-1800 & DDR3-2000 4GB Memory Kits MAC Press Releases & Tech News 0 September 17, 2008 07:03 PM
FS: OCZ Platinum OCZ3P13332GK 2GB DDR3 2X1GB DDR3-1333 JPxM0Dz Buy/Sell & Trade 2 April 14, 2008 10:40 AM