Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2009, 01:17 PM
CanadaRox's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Scarborough (Toronto)
Posts: 614
Default MA790XT-UD4P & Patriot DDR3-1600 CL7

I'm having some trouble getting this memory to run at its rated speed with the Gigabyte MA790XT-UD4P and Phenom II X3. This is the RAM: NCIX.com - Buy Patriot Viper Extreme Performance 4GB DDR3 2X2GB PC3-12800 DDR3-1600 CL 7-7-7-20 EPP2.0 Memory Kit - PVS34G1600LLKN In Canada.

I have the CPU set to +0.1V, CPU NB VID set to +0.1V, NB set to 1.3V (+0.2V) and the RAM set to 2.0V (NCIX's site says 1.9V, but Patriot's says 2.0V)

The timings are set at:

7-7-7-20
2T
TwTr Command Delay - 4
Trfc0 for DIMM1 - 110ns
Trfc0 for DIMM3 - 110ns
Write Recovery Time - 7
Precharge Time - 4
Row Cycle - 27
Ras to Ras Delay 4

The CPU is currently running stock, but fails OCCT in under 10 seconds. When I drop the RAM down to 1066 instead of 1600 it has done 30 minutes perfectly fine.
__________________
Project: Black and White
i7 920 D0 | 3 x 2GB DDR3 | EVGA X58 SLI LE
XFX 4890 | Corsair HX750 | Corsair Obsidian
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2009, 11:27 PM
CanadaRox's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Scarborough (Toronto)
Posts: 614
Default

Anyone?
__________________
Project: Black and White
i7 920 D0 | 3 x 2GB DDR3 | EVGA X58 SLI LE
XFX 4890 | Corsair HX750 | Corsair Obsidian
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 4, 2009, 02:02 PM
Flasker's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 25
Default

I have the same mobo with a 550. No problems running 7-7-7-20 @ DDR3-1600

I'm using the outer slots, CPU cooler blocks the first slot anyway.

CPU NB VID: +0.150V
NB: normal
Memory Voltage: 1.90V

7-7-7-20 1T
(default subs)
TwTr Command Delay - 6
Trfc0 for DIMM2 - 110ns
Trfc0 for DIMM4 - 110ns
Write Recovery Time - 12
Precharge Time - 6
Row Cycle - 40
Ras to Ras Delay 4

HTH
__________________
Mushkin Enhanced comes alive
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 5, 2009, 08:05 AM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Maybe it`s your mobo throtteling the ram because the CPU don`t have the FSB to get advantage of a 12800. when 1066 came out about 1 years ago most people where returning it because it was running at 800 because of this. I think that OC your cpu for it to use the memory faster should fix it.

Ask for more.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 5, 2009, 09:47 AM
CanadaRox's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Scarborough (Toronto)
Posts: 614
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by martin_metal_88 View Post
Maybe it`s your mobo throtteling the ram because the CPU don`t have the FSB to get advantage of a 12800. when 1066 came out about 1 years ago most people where returning it because it was running at 800 because of this. I think that OC your cpu for it to use the memory faster should fix it.

Ask for more.
Not quite sure what you are trying to say. The motherboard does have the correct FSB:RAM ratio required to run the ram at DDR3-1600 speeds when using a stock HT Ref clock of 200 so overclocking wouldn't be required to get that speed. And as I already stated, I did get Windows to boot at the right speed, but it wasn't able to pass even 10 seconds of OCCT.

I ended up just running the RAM at a slower speed with tight timings as the real world benefit of the extra speed is nearly zero.
__________________
Project: Black and White
i7 920 D0 | 3 x 2GB DDR3 | EVGA X58 SLI LE
XFX 4890 | Corsair HX750 | Corsair Obsidian
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2009, 11:17 AM
Fudd Rucker's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SSM Ont
Posts: 942

My System Specs

Default

im actually thinking about dropping my ram down to 1333mhz with really really tight timings. As you said the real world difference is miniscule for speed, but the timings do make a big impact.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2009, 11:15 PM
CanadaRox's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Scarborough (Toronto)
Posts: 614
Default

Its actually very little for both. And having faster speed with slightly looser timings is generally is faster.
__________________
Project: Black and White
i7 920 D0 | 3 x 2GB DDR3 | EVGA X58 SLI LE
XFX 4890 | Corsair HX750 | Corsair Obsidian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MA790XT-UD4P ebdoradz CPU's and Motherboards 4 July 7, 2009 07:11 PM
Gigabyte MA790XT UD4P AM3 with 2x2gb 996601 NOT STABLE Drummer Troubleshooting 8 March 10, 2009 09:46 PM
[FS] FS: 2x1gb OCZ ddr3-1600 2x2gb Patriot ddr3-1600 Razer copperhead MarcusFoX Buy/Sell & Trade 8 February 14, 2009 09:45 AM
WTS: 2x1GB Patriot DDR3 1333 CL7 Eldonko Buy/Sell & Trade 18 November 3, 2008 01:33 PM