Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2007, 07:06 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 1,437

My System Specs

Default OCZ XTC series RAM

Greetings all, I am currently building a new intel system. I was wondering if anyone here has used any of the OCZ XTC series ram.

currently under construction:
Tagan 900W power supply
P4 650 3.4Ghz
Asus P5N32 SLI SE Deluxe
2X 80GB SATA Seagate Barracudas (raid 0)
1X BFG 7600 GTOC (1 to go)

The OCZ XTC series (6400) is not on the SLI QVL list and was wondering if anyone is using or knows anyone that is using this ram with this motherboard. Any thoughts, suggestions or sneers (lol) would be greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2007, 07:32 AM
Gav's Avatar
Gav Gav is offline
Administrator
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,341

My System Specs

Default

As far as I know the ram should work fine in that MB. I've used it many times before and it's good ram.

Keep in mind that some people had to increase the voltage to 2.1volts to get it stable in their systems. This problem may be gone now as most motherboard manufacturers have release new bios's that have solved the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2007, 11:30 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,225

My System Specs

Default

This is a link to the official OCZ support site........

http://www.bleedinedgesupport.com/ocz/forum/index.php

Lots of good info there as well as OCZ employees to help you out if needed.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2007, 09:37 PM
Misoprostol
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

That memory should work fine on that board. Even an older revision.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2007, 07:53 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 1,437

My System Specs

Default

thanx for all your help!:)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2007, 02:07 PM
Misoprostol
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

anytime :)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2007, 10:33 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

I asked this question over at NCIX but didn't get an answer. Maybe someone here knows- Why is the Gold series more popular AND more expensive than the faster Platinum series?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2007, 12:14 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,225

My System Specs

Default

I'd have to see the specs, but I suspect it's because of the chips they use.

OCZ has always had many different versions of even their higher end mem selling at the same time.

Cruising through the various OC forums will probably point to differing OC capabilities.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2007, 12:18 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

the platinum is 800, 4-4-4-15 The Gold is 800- 5-5-5-12

I have the Gold and mine works at 4-4-4-12- the platinum is supposed to be the next step up, I think. There is a rev. 2 of the platinum now, and it's actually cheaper than the original.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2007, 12:55 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,225

My System Specs

Default

Yep, but again you'd have to look at what kind of results folks have had either tightening the timings or OCing.

This has been going on for at least a year (it was the same thing with my DDR1 ram and if I recall correctly the gold stuff at the time would OC like mad when you pumped the juice to it while mine does the rated speed and not much more).

If I can pull myself away from playing with my new (rma'd) vid card I'll have a look at the DIY database to see if I can find any OC data on them.

Do you have links to the two different sticks you're looking at?
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8800 series SLI miggs78 Video Cards 16 February 12, 2008 07:57 AM
Need for Speed series... omgwtf Gaming 8 May 28, 2007 05:08 PM
8600 Series BALISTX Video Cards 32 May 16, 2007 08:12 PM
2900XT pic series, and WC concerns Babrbarossa Video Cards 1 May 10, 2007 09:45 AM