Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2009, 05:11 PM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Thumbs up NEW RAM ?

Hey guys i am looking into new ram what should i buy ?
Right now i am running GSkillPC2-800 4 GIG at CL5-5-5-15 .
I AM RUNNING A MSI mb NEO2 with a Xeon E3110 chip water cooled .
So whats the best 4 gig of ram i can buy and what is ruffly the cost on it ?
__________________
I use paypal only.:)
Remember... Four boxes keep us free: the soap box, the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2009, 05:28 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,643

My System Specs

Default

NCIX.com - Buy Corsair XMS2 TWIN2X4096-8500C5 4GB 2X2GB PC2-8500 DDR2-1066 CL5-5-5-15 240PIN Memory Kit - TWIN2X4096-8500C5 In Canada.

;)
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2009, 05:37 PM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default

So is this better or faster etc etc ? learning here :)
__________________
I use paypal only.:)
Remember... Four boxes keep us free: the soap box, the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2009, 05:40 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,643

My System Specs

Default

Faster speed, same timings, same 4Gb. Good price.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2009, 05:42 PM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default

well looks like i got a winner Will order this tomm eve:)
Thankyou John !!! As always you are a great help !!!!!!!!!
+1
__________________
I use paypal only.:)
Remember... Four boxes keep us free: the soap box, the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2009, 05:46 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,605
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WolfBane View Post
well looks like i got a winner Will order this tomm eve:)
Thankyou John !!! As always you are a great help !!!!!!!!!
+1
Unless you really plan to take advantage of that memory the stuff you have is perfectly fine.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2009, 05:51 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,643

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Unless you really plan to take advantage of that memory the stuff you have is perfectly fine.
Except that the Gskills died, and he needs replacement sticks.

Dave, even cheaper; looser timings should not be an issue: NCIX.com - Buy Corsair XMS2 TWIN2X4096-8500C5C 4GB 2X2GB PC2-8500 DDR2-1066 CL5-6-6-18 240PIN Memory Kit - TWIN2X4096-8500C5C In Canada..
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2009, 06:01 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,221

My System Specs

Default

lol ! I can vouch 100% for this brand - I've been using those dual kits from Corsair and they are great, except I use the 4-4-4-12 DDR-2 800 - It's the DHX one I never dared find out if they OC to 1066 ;)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2009, 06:12 PM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,503

My System Specs

Default

Buy the cheapest possible PC2-6400 2X2GB kit possible, run them stock speeds and be happy you didn't waste your money on higher bandwidth stuff that makes absolutely NO difference at all whatsoever in real world use. Running DDR2 any higher than 800MHz CAS 5 will do nothing for real world use. If you must run silly benchmarks for points then you could use more speed.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2009, 06:17 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,221

My System Specs

Default

Actually I do horus and hours of rendering and transcoding on my PC and in the long run I do see a difference when you add it all up........ For memory bandwidth intensive apps every little bit helps - for games, when your frame rate is already high, useless, there is only so much the eye can see anyway.......unless you are extremely fussy about that extra 2-5 fps to add to your 160 ! :D
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] SD ram and RD ram.. and mini pci wireless cards shockthebox Buy/Sell & Trade 4 April 27, 2009 09:32 PM
ram? Tazer-[X] Troubleshooting 10 August 1, 2008 02:11 PM
I want my i-Ram Hardware Canucks Reviews & Articles from the Web 0 April 24, 2008 05:20 PM
Is Patriat Ram Great Ram or not mailaw RAM 2 July 21, 2007 04:48 AM
Which ram? darksideleader RAM 5 July 18, 2007 09:58 PM