Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2009, 06:00 PM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default Gskill can i rma it? PLEASE RESPOND asap:)

Ok heres the deal system has been BSOD last cpl days and getting worse!!!
So i run memtest V 2.11 i think and at test #5 it gives me all kinds of errors:(
So am i right in thinking one of my g skill ram chips are bad?
And is Gskill ram have a lifetime warrenty ?
And if so can i RMA it ANd how does the RMA process work ?

Please respond ASAP :)
__________________
I use paypal only.:)
Remember... Four boxes keep us free: the soap box, the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2009, 06:23 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

Warranty varies depending on the product.

Gskill RMA: G.SKILL-RMA info
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2009, 06:27 PM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default

Hey John ok ii sent the request email to GSkill:)
Now my only ?
is , I bought it off Capt Vortex will they still honor the Rma?
__________________
I use paypal only.:)
Remember... Four boxes keep us free: the soap box, the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2009, 06:31 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

You may need Paul's invoice. It they request it. I've never dealt with Gskill, you'll soon find out.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2009, 06:38 PM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default

lol i sure will John :)
Its been good ram for ay ear now :)
So i guess we will see :)
If not then i will buy new:)
__________________
I use paypal only.:)
Remember... Four boxes keep us free: the soap box, the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2009, 06:09 PM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default

uodate:
I got an email back from GSkill and they sent me an EMA number along with there adress :)
So i sent both Ram chips to them :)


Cost 7.50 to mail it to California :)
So heres hoping all will be taken care of!!
So far i must say i am impressed withthe quickness of GSkill to reply and the service they seem to give there costumers:)
So i will let ya all know when i get it back!


Now i went ahead and bought this ram as Charlie recommended : Corsair XMS2 TWIN2X4096-8500C5C 4GB 2X2GB PC2-8500 DDR2-1066 CL5-6-6-18 240PIN Memory Kit

Can i run this ram with the Gskill Ram ? GSkillPC2-800 4 GIG at CL5-5-5-15 ????????????????????? this would in effect give me 8 gig of ram if i can run them both togeather :)
If not i might have some good ram for sale lol
__________________
I use paypal only.:)
Remember... Four boxes keep us free: the soap box, the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2009, 06:26 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,049

My System Specs

Default

You'll be fine... they've never once asked me for an invoice and I've done it a few times.

Corsair never did either.... nor BFG

Corsair's RAM that they sent back for my first RMA had to be sent back as an RMA because it showed up dead.

oopsy!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2009, 06:32 PM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default

lol Well i hope they don't send me more dead ram lol
but i did buy the corsairs and should be here by tuesday if i am lucky !!!
Thids Sucks major being on the wifes system lol
__________________
I use paypal only.:)
Remember... Four boxes keep us free: the soap box, the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2009, 06:41 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WolfBane View Post
uodate:
I got an email back from GSkill and they sent me an EMA number along with there adress :)
So i sent both Ram chips to them :)


Cost 7.50 to mail it to California :)
So heres hoping all will be taken care of!!
So far i must say i am impressed withthe quickness of GSkill to reply and the service they seem to give there costumers:)
So i will let ya all know when i get it back!


Now i went ahead and bought this ram as Charlie recommended : Corsair XMS2 TWIN2X4096-8500C5C 4GB 2X2GB PC2-8500 DDR2-1066 CL5-6-6-18 240PIN Memory Kit

Can i run this ram with the Gskill Ram ? GSkillPC2-800 4 GIG at CL5-5-5-15 ????????????????????? this would in effect give me 8 gig of ram if i can run them both togeather :)
If not i might have some good ram for sale lol
It may work, but it is not recommended to do so:

since they are different manufacturers
since they have different speeds and timings.

Try it. Worst that can happen is that it won't POST.

John
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2009, 10:06 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

If you want to put more ram in then get the same stuff. mix and match is usually not a good thing.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
When I hit the power switch the computer doesn't respond! andynerd Troubleshooting 22 June 25, 2009 06:03 PM
[WTB] Need a motherboard ASAP Table21 Buy/Sell & Trade 3 April 9, 2009 10:11 AM
[WTB] Q9550 asap Sniper Buy/Sell & Trade 0 April 5, 2009 09:56 AM
[FS] How not to respond to a Mod while breaking a buy&sell rule Sniper Buy/Sell & Trade 8 January 20, 2009 06:32 AM
RMA howto and RMA list qwerty Suggestions & Feedback 4 November 8, 2007 03:22 PM