Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2009, 09:13 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
Default OCZ RAM, no XMP, specs?

I picked up 12 GB of OCZ RAM, OCZ3P1600LV6GK. OCZ does not include XMP profiles. I know the RAM is capable of 7-7-7-24 timings at 1.65 volts but in the BIOS for my Gigabyte EX58-UD5 motherboard, there are a number of other settings apart from the four specified above.

How can I determine what to set these other values to? I'm only interested in setting them to the values that OCZ recommends, but I don't know how to determine this without an XMP profile.

Perhaps I am confused, perhaps it does have an XMP profile. Perhaps I just set the RAM to 1600 MHz and accept the automatic settings?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2009, 09:50 AM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,683

My System Specs

Default

Just set the ones that are given and keep the other ones to auto if you don't know what they're for. I have the same kit as you, but only one kit worth. Great RAM for the price. You might have to change the OC setting or memory setting to manual or custom. Sorry but I don't know what your BIOS looks like.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2009, 07:50 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
Default

It's probably a good idea, but it didn't work. I set the frequency to 1600 MHz and the timings to 7-7-7-24, and the voltage to 1.65, and the computer does not boot up. Looks like in order to get it to boot at that, I can't leave the other settings (tRC, tRRD, tWTR, tWR, tRFC, tRTP, tFAW, CMD, and/or Round Trip Latency) at auto.

I'm a little sad that the kit doesn't come with XMP but for the price, I'm very happy with the RAM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2009, 08:02 AM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,683

My System Specs

Default

Are you sure you're doing it properly? I can set mine manually on my EVGA Vanilla X58...I would give another go with it. Maybe take a picture of you BIOS? I'm sure someone with the same board could help you out.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2009, 08:36 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
Default

I've read elsewhere that perhaps what I need to do is boost my QPI voltage. Also, some recommended settings that I read elsewhere, but which I have not tried yet:
tRC 26 (or 30), tRRD 4 (or 5), tWTR 4 (or 5), tWR 8 (or 8), tRFC 88 (or 60), tRTP 4 (or 5), tFAW 16, CMD 2.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2009, 08:57 AM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,683

My System Specs

Default

You could also turn down your QPI to 4.8GT/s and see what that does...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2009, 10:52 AM
Flasker's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 25
Default

Set Performance enhance to standard
Set your QPI/VTT voltage to 1.325V - 1.375V
Most mobos need memory voltage set to 1.7V with 12Gb. With 6 DIMMs the vDroop to the ram is approximately 0.05V, so to get 1.65V to the ram you need to set 1.7V in the BIOS.
You should just have to set the primary timings, 7-7-7-24 (CAS, TRCD, TRP, TRAS) the board should do the rest
__________________
Mushkin Enhanced comes alive
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2009, 11:43 AM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,683

My System Specs

Default

It's really nice to have a Mushkin rep in here :).
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2009, 08:40 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,529

My System Specs

Default

Another thing you can try is to set the standard 7-7-7-24, but start at a lower clockspeed for the ram with all of the other settings at auto. If you then bring the memory speeds up slowly, the auto settings might be able to adjust to the higher clockspeeds. (That's what I intend to do with mine on the MSI board I've got, and then I'll go in and try to tighten those timings up from the auto settings afterwards).

I'm not sure how dependant on secondary timings the AM2/3 platform is, but the S939 platform could get quite a boost from tightening them.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2009, 08:47 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

I got the same set a few days ago. Couldn't post either.

Set the voltages like flasker said, then do the 7-7-7-24 and set the trc to 40 and the trfc to 88. Got that from the OCZ forums, been stable since.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] OCZ Vertex 30GB SSD, OCZ 3GB Triple Channel RAM Dave510 Buy/Sell & Trade 9 May 25, 2009 03:58 PM
OCZ Unveils New DDR3 Memory Kits With Intel XMP MAC Press Releases & Tech News 1 July 4, 2008 05:06 AM
Buying New Ram: OCZ vs Corsair tgraszat14 RAM 2 February 5, 2008 10:27 AM
OCZ XTC series RAM mo' power RAM 16 April 2, 2007 08:54 PM