Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2007, 11:05 AM
Jim's Avatar
Jim Jim is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: an hour out of Calgary
Posts: 405
Default this safe ?

Found this app,allows for adjusting mem settings from the desktop ,you figure its safe ? not touching it till I know
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2007, 11:20 AM
Patriote's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,167
Default

Of course it is. I personally used it back in the time i had an AMD set-up. But personally, now, i wouldn't use such program. I would go and set my timing in Bios.
__________________
- Asus P8Z68-V PRO
- Intel I5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz (for now)
- Asus Geforce 580GTX DirectCUII Fermi
- 16GB Corsair Vengeance Low Profile
- Ultra X3 1000 Watt
- Asus Xonar DX 7.1 \ Klipsch Promedia 2.1 THX
- Corsair Vengeance 1300 Gaming Headset
- Crucial M4 SSD 128GB \ WD Caviar Black 1TB
- CoolerMaster 690II Advanced
- Dell UltraSharp 24''
- Noctua NH-D14
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2007, 02:50 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,793

My System Specs

Default

I used it on the P35-DQ6 to set performance levels which weren't included in bios.

As far as I can tell there are no registry hooks or rootkits that can foobar your system if you make the wrong selection.

The only issue would be if you had it enabled at startup, but that works through the startup folder, so if you can't get windows to boot.... just do a safe mode start and delete it from the startup folder.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2007, 04:14 PM
3oh6's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,052
Default

like everyone else has mentioned...Memset is completely safe and can't cause any permanent problems. naturally setting timings to tight may cause a lock up but a simple re-boot resolves that.

i personally use Memset every single day on all of my benching systems as it is an integral part of memory overclocking and benchmarking...not every motherboard has a BIOS for memory options like DFI
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
safe threshold for air OC'ing Mr. Cipher Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 9 February 13, 2008 03:06 PM
Safe to turn on new rig w/o video card. bobaban Troubleshooting 2 November 5, 2007 03:25 AM
Safe test bench material? Mibs Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 12 July 31, 2007 06:02 PM
e6400 and NVidia evga 680i 775 safe overclock Babrbarossa CPU's and Motherboards 28 February 1, 2007 03:14 PM