Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 13, 2009, 06:20 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Newfoundland
Posts: 267
Default Will tri-chanel ram sticks work in a dewl-chanel configeration?

Well like the topic sugests I am wondering if a tri-chanel ram stick's work in dewl chanell confirgation? That is can I buy a tri-chanel kit and only use 2X of the sticks on my LGA775 board?
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 13, 2009, 06:21 PM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Acton, Ontario
Posts: 2,465

My System Specs

Default

Yes.

(10char)
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 13, 2009, 06:24 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Newfoundland
Posts: 267
Default

Cool so running them in duel channel will that have much effect on timings?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 13, 2009, 07:34 PM
Flasker's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 25
Default

Yes you can use 2 sticks for dual channel, be sure to keep the voltage within warranty limits.
These kits were designed for x58, so you may not get rated specs on a 775 mobo.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 14, 2009, 03:50 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 1,437

My System Specs

Default

This thread will prove useful. It was discussed not too long ago.
Triple channel kits in an LG775
__________________


EBAY(http://myworld.ebay.ca/scott0639)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2009, 08:17 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Newfoundland
Posts: 267
Default

Thanks I will stick to the dewl chanel
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 16, 2009, 10:31 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,227

My System Specs

Default

Ok folks. Spelling or gramatical critiques of members' posts are not helpful unless there is a legitmate comprehension issue.

HWC membership has a pretty good rep as a friendly community, I'd rather not see us lose that reputation for the sake of a few misspelled words.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 20, 2009, 06:22 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 252

My System Specs

Default

I'm pretty sure if I was running dual channel, I could run my memory at 1333MHz, but in triple, only 1066MHz.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] CHEAP i7 Stuff (x58 Mobo + 6gb tri-chan DDR3-1800 ram + i7 920) ComBo DEALl! Saibot Buy/Sell & Trade 14 July 11, 2009 06:10 PM
Which RAM would work better? Mishtar RAM 1 November 10, 2008 03:06 PM
Four RAM Sticks in 680i LT Mobo Probs InternetOwl RAM 3 June 11, 2008 09:05 PM
Argh, ok now memtest won't work with old ram either donimo RAM 1 December 10, 2007 10:02 AM
Which of these sticks of ram should I buy? Song RAM 2 September 1, 2007 09:53 PM