Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
View Poll Results: Should I upgrade the RAM? Going to spend only $40ish
Yes get the Corsairs 13 56.52%
Yes get the OCZ 6 26.09%
No 1 4.35%
Upgrade something else 3 13.04%
Voters: 23. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2009, 06:15 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,625

My System Specs

Default Got that Upgrade Itch

Now that I'm using Windows 7 64 bit, is there a need to upgrade from 2GB to 4GB of RAM? I'm a casual gamer who occasionally plays games like CoD4, etc. but all single player mode at the moment because of....cracks.. Folding is running whenever my computer is on. With the prices of DDR2 at a fairly low price, 4GB for only $40ish is really cheap.

If I should upgrade, what RAM would you recommend? Quickly browsing Canada Computers I see some fairly good deals. I'm leaning towards the Corsairs because they don't need a rebate and well, I won't run it above DDR800 anyways since I'll be keeping the 1:1 FSB:RAM ratio.

Canada Computers - Memory > Desktop Memory > DDR2 800 PC2-6400+ : Corsair XMS2 TWIN2X2048-6400C4DHX Matched Pairs 2GB Kit (2x1GB) PC6400 DDR2-800 CL 4-4-4-12 240-pin Dual Channel DHX Memory .

Canada Computers - Memory > Desktop Memory > DDR2 800 PC2-6400+ : OCZ (OCZ2RPR800C44GK) Reaper DDR2 PC2-6400 DDR2-800 CL 4-4-4-15 4GB (2X2GB) Memory Kit.

Would you get more RAM or upgrade something else in my rig for $40ish?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2009, 06:50 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Regina
Posts: 196
Default

Awwwwweee, an upgrade itch with ddr2, so cheap and so simple.

A move too 4gb of ram with a 64bit os is a great upgrade. Cheap and noticeable.

With DDR3, that increases the complexity and cost so vastly.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 16, 2009, 01:09 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 33
Default

Yea, there will definately be a difference between 2GB and 4GB. Especially with vista
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 16, 2009, 06:44 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geokilla View Post
Now that I'm using Windows 7 64 bit, is there a need to upgrade from 2GB to 4GB of RAM? I'm a casual gamer who occasionally plays games like CoD4, etc. but all single player mode at the moment because of....cracks.. Folding is running whenever my computer is on. With the prices of DDR2 at a fairly low price, 4GB for only $40ish is really cheap.

If I should upgrade, what RAM would you recommend? Quickly browsing Canada Computers I see some fairly good deals. I'm leaning towards the Corsairs because they don't need a rebate and well, I won't run it above DDR800 anyways since I'll be keeping the 1:1 FSB:RAM ratio.

Canada Computers - Memory > Desktop Memory > DDR2 800 PC2-6400+ : Corsair XMS2 TWIN2X2048-6400C4DHX Matched Pairs 2GB Kit (2x1GB) PC6400 DDR2-800 CL 4-4-4-12 240-pin Dual Channel DHX Memory .

Canada Computers - Memory > Desktop Memory > DDR2 800 PC2-6400+ : OCZ (OCZ2RPR800C44GK) Reaper DDR2 PC2-6400 DDR2-800 CL 4-4-4-15 4GB (2X2GB) Memory Kit.

Would you get more RAM or upgrade something else in my rig for $40ish?
All depends on what you do.

Just because its cheap doesn't necessarily mean its beneficial.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 16, 2009, 09:09 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,903

My System Specs

Default

I'd say go with it. Those Corsairs are a decent price even without MIR.

No harm in having extra RAM IMO.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 16, 2009, 10:13 AM
486's Avatar
486 486 is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 397

My System Specs

Default

Paraphrasing B.Gates, 8GB should be enough for everyone. It is dirt cheap.
__________________
Silverstone TJ-08E
Seasonic X-660
Asus P8Z77-M Pro
Intel i7-3770
Kingstone HyperX 2 x 8GB
Crucial M4 256GB + 128 GB
Sapphire Radeon HD7970
Nec Multisync LCD2690WUXI
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 16, 2009, 10:35 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,066

My System Specs

Default

Do it, get the Corsairs and be happy with the extra RAM.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 16, 2009, 06:14 PM
TopDogZero's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Posts: 558

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Now that I'm using Windows 7 64 bit, is there a need to upgrade from 2GB to 4GB of RAM? I'm a casual gamer who occasionally plays games like CoD4, etc. but all single player mode at the moment because of....cracks.. Folding is running whenever my computer is on. With the prices of DDR2 at a fairly low price, 4GB for only $40ish is really cheap.
The Corsairs kit is only 2GB (2x1GB). I think the going rate for 4GB at the lowest is $60+.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 16, 2009, 08:27 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,625

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TopDogZero View Post
The Corsairs kit is only 2GB (2x1GB). I think the going rate for 4GB at the lowest is $60+.
I thought they were a 4GB kit. Massive fail by me right there.

Well I didn't get the RAM kit anyways....gotta focus on my exams for a few more days first. Must not fail SBI and MCR...

Guess rebates are the only way to go if I want a cheap 4GB kit.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 17, 2009, 12:57 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Geez...I sure wish when I get the "upgrade itch" it only means $40 on some RAM...hahahahahahha...my last "upgrade itch" was $325...before that was $1200....and on and on.

PS....More RAM indeed!!
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
upgrade to i7 yet? RONEDOGG New Builds 17 April 22, 2009 11:12 PM
The Itch to Upgrade BALISTX New Builds 13 July 4, 2008 12:06 PM
I've got the itch...but don't know what to upgrade! Mibs CPU's and Motherboards 8 June 20, 2008 09:43 PM
need serious upgrade help muffler CPU's and Motherboards 4 March 30, 2008 08:57 AM
I'm getting that itch... EVGA step-up is running out zlojack Video Cards 9 February 7, 2008 09:01 AM