Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2009, 01:16 AM
Jackquelegs's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 2,590

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattydies View Post
Jackquelegs ~ Is there a rule of thumb about memory being "fast enough" for a cpu? Or are you referring to a potential issue with the FSB setting?
The FSB of the CPU linked to the Frequency of the RAM via the MCH Strap (CPU/Mem ratio). As people increase FSB, the memory frequency goes up as well. People really like 1:1, which is FSB = Memory Freq. So for example, 400mhz fsb on a Q9450 would equal to 800mhz effective on the memory using 1:1 ratio. Therefore, purchasing 667mhz RAM would be a bad idea.
__________________
Iapetos
Intel Core i7 930 D0 4.2ghz, Corsair XMS3 6X2GB DDR3-1600 CL 8-8-8-24, Xfire HD5870, Intel X-25M 34nm 80gb, Enermax Revolution85+ 1050W, Xonar D2X

Zephyranthes
E8400 4.0ghz, XFX 780i, Mushkin XP2 PC-6400, Antec Earthwatts 750W

Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2009, 01:13 PM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default

Well i certainly want to thank all you guys !!1 That was really a good explanation of ram to us laymen :)
:) , I still don't know how to over clock myt gskill but i learned alot from this write up !!

+1 to all you guys:)
__________________
I use paypal only.:)
Remember... Four boxes keep us free: the soap box, the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2009, 07:28 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 407

My System Specs

Default

May I join in and ask a question?
I have 3 sticks of OCZ Gold PC12800 DDR1600 2GB. If I run it at 1600MHz, I get a bandwidth of 16889MB/s. If I run it at 1520MHz, I get the same bandwidth, and in both cases, it does not matter if it is CAS8, or CAS9 0r CAS10. If I run it at 1200MHz, I get bandwidth of 15510 MB/s. These bandwidth are much higher than the rated PC12800, and it seems to max out at 1520MHz. But, I have not overclocked the ram to beyond the rated DDR1600, nor below the rated CAS8. So, how is it that I am getting much better bandwidth than the rated value? Does it mean that I can run it at 1520 MHz and it will perform just as well as at 1600MHz, with the benefit of lower ram voltage? The bandwidth is reported from memtest86+ v2.11
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2009, 07:48 PM
Jackquelegs's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 2,590

My System Specs

Default

Check with Everest Memory benchmark.
__________________
Iapetos
Intel Core i7 930 D0 4.2ghz, Corsair XMS3 6X2GB DDR3-1600 CL 8-8-8-24, Xfire HD5870, Intel X-25M 34nm 80gb, Enermax Revolution85+ 1050W, Xonar D2X

Zephyranthes
E8400 4.0ghz, XFX 780i, Mushkin XP2 PC-6400, Antec Earthwatts 750W

Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2009, 11:40 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 407

My System Specs

Default

Thanks. Everest bench comes much closer, still about 120 MHz higher than rated.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
4gbpi , 4gbpk , g.skill , question , ram

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New OCing Numbers. Chromey Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 8 June 22, 2009 11:06 PM
Anyone Have Numbers on the 4890 Yet? Soultribunal HardwareCanucks F@H Team 8 April 15, 2009 08:04 PM
batch numbers Rapid-X Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 8 May 12, 2008 10:29 PM
Solid Barcelona numbers and dates?? Babrbarossa Rumor Mill 4 June 27, 2007 02:40 PM
Some interesting numbers in current events Babrbarossa Off Topic 5 May 23, 2007 05:15 AM