Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 17, 2009, 03:13 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: St.john's
Posts: 133
Default DDR3 Question

Hey,

I just got my core i7 today with some G.Skill DDR3 memory. The RAM is specced at 1600MHz. Well I started overclocking and messing with the memory settings trying to get 1600MHz but it doesnt read as 1600MHz.

I have a Bloodrage GTI MOBO and when I am in bios I have set the CPU multiplier to 20 and the RAM to 8x which reads as ~1564MHz in the bios. Thats fine and dandy but when I boot up it reads the ram as ~1150MHz and when I check CPU-z the ram is at ~560MHz were it should be 800MHz.

This may just be my mistake were I haven't set it right but i would like to know lol.

Any help would be appreciated.
__________________
My Rig:

Gigabyte 890GX / AMD Phenom II x6 1055 / Crucial Ballistix Tracer 4GB / EVGA GTX470 SC+ / Stock Cooling (Yet) / Corsair TX850 / Corsair Nova 128GB SSD / Antec 902/ Windows 7 PRO 64 bit/ 24" Acer LED Monitor
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 17, 2009, 03:51 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

Make sure you're not using an obsolete version of CPU-Z - some of the older ones don't read X58 systems properly. And make sure you're using a recent BIOS, since there have been a number of significant fixes since the older ones were put out.

What's your Uncore multiplier set to? It needs to be at least twice what the memory multi is, otherwise the board will usually just pick a different multiplier instead without asking you.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 17, 2009, 04:08 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: St.john's
Posts: 133
Default

The uncore multiplier was the problem. had it set to 12x and it was setting my ram to a 6x multi. Changed it to 16x and it works great!

Thanks MpG!
__________________
My Rig:

Gigabyte 890GX / AMD Phenom II x6 1055 / Crucial Ballistix Tracer 4GB / EVGA GTX470 SC+ / Stock Cooling (Yet) / Corsair TX850 / Corsair Nova 128GB SSD / Antec 902/ Windows 7 PRO 64 bit/ 24" Acer LED Monitor
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 17, 2009, 05:10 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

No prob. Had that problem myself at one point, had me scratching my head for awhile too.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] Patriot Viper Extreme Performance 2GB DDR3 2X1GB PC3-16000 DDR3-2000 CL 9-9-9-24 EPP2 Frank Booth Buy/Sell & Trade 2 April 24, 2009 10:42 AM
[FS] FS: 2x1gb OCZ ddr3-1600 2x2gb Patriot ddr3-1600 Razer copperhead MarcusFoX Buy/Sell & Trade 8 February 14, 2009 10:45 AM
FS: Rampage Extreme, 4GB CSX Diablo DDR3 2000, 4GB OCZ Gold DDR3 1600MHz, E8600 zlojack Buy/Sell & Trade 13 November 15, 2008 04:30 PM
Team Group Introduces DDR3-1800 & DDR3-2000 4GB Memory Kits MAC Press Releases & Tech News 0 September 17, 2008 08:03 PM
FS: OCZ Platinum OCZ3P13332GK 2GB DDR3 2X1GB DDR3-1333 JPxM0Dz Buy/Sell & Trade 2 April 14, 2008 11:40 AM