Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 16, 2009, 05:01 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,361

My System Specs

Default RAM mistake, does it matter ?

I thought I posted this earlier, but it seems I did not... so here goes...

Saturday I bought a complete setup, rig in sig, and I thought I clicked to buy PC2-8000 2x2gb G. Skill ram, but it appears I chose PC2-6400 2x2gb G Skill instead.

Will there be any diffference or limitations ?
Should I return it or sell it and get some faster ram ?

Edit: I know my rig will still function, I am just wondering if it will limit its performance.

Last edited by Kilauea; June 16, 2009 at 05:35 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 16, 2009, 05:37 PM
MAC's Avatar
MAC MAC is offline
Associate Review Editor
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Montreal
Posts: 994
Default

Ideally you would have been better off with some PC2-8500, but even with PC2-6400 the performance difference (if any!) will be very negligible.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 16, 2009, 05:45 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,361

My System Specs

Default

Should I try to sell them and get some PC2-8500 ?
btw I plan to oc
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 16, 2009, 05:51 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,627

My System Specs

Default

It'll be fine. The difference between DDR800 and DDR1000+ is minimal, and you can barely feel the difference when you use it.

If you can, change those G.Skill to the Patriot 4GB that's on sale. Those have a rebate, so they're cheaper
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 16, 2009, 05:57 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,361

My System Specs

Default

Ya but they are the same with a better CAS, but with a MIR. Too little advantage to make it worth it.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 16, 2009, 06:45 PM
PLg PLg is offline
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Laval, Qc
Posts: 180
Default

Yep, it is a sad mistake but I wouldn't take the lost for that mistake. Not worth it.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 16, 2009, 09:09 PM
CanadaRox's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Scarborough (Toronto)
Posts: 614
Default

You wont notice any difference unless you have such a high FSB that 1:1 would push the RAM past it's limits. The actual performance difference between the two will be completely unnoticeable unless you are doing some extreme benchmarking.
__________________
Project: Black and White
i7 920 D0 | 3 x 2GB DDR3 | EVGA X58 SLI LE
XFX 4890 | Corsair HX750 | Corsair Obsidian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel Programmable Matter, with VIDEO. cadaveca Rumor Mill 13 September 1, 2009 05:08 PM
Oops! I think I made a mistake, guys! HermesĄ˘ New Builds 17 December 24, 2008 11:40 PM
When Noise Doesn't Matter Soultribunal Air Cooling 0 December 8, 2008 07:40 AM
Case Cooling and Airflow - How much does it matter CasheKicker Air Cooling 18 March 14, 2008 09:30 AM
NVIDIA 8800 Ultra Proves to be a Tragically Arrogant Mistake Beermaster Press Releases & Tech News 5 May 4, 2007 06:17 PM