Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2009, 04:26 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 22
Default Dual Channel 8GB vs Tri Channel 6GB

I was building a new system and was wondering about the difference in these two setups.

This board with a AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition and ether
2 sets of OCZ Dual Channel 4GB PC12800 DDR3 7-7-7-?
or 1 set of OCZ Gold Tri Channel 6GB PC12800 DDR3 8-8-8-24

It does not have to be that exact ram but you get the idea.

So would 8GB with 4 sticks in 2 sets of Dual Channel ram with lower timings be better then 6GB in 3 sticks of one set of ram with higher timings.
Or would it be the other way around ?

Last edited by Patlabor; June 16, 2009 at 06:01 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2009, 05:10 PM
Spikemaul's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Regina, Saskatchewan
Posts: 392

My System Specs

Default

Both links are for the same memory. I could be wrong but isn't triple channel memory only for the i7.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2009, 05:23 PM
Manufacturer Rep
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 58
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spikemaul View Post
Both links are for the same memory. I could be wrong but isn't triple channel memory only for the i7.

More than likely he just copied the wrong link. But yes, most memory (other than 1333 9-9-9-24 1.5v and 1066 7-7-7-20 1.5v) designed for the Core i7 will likely behave differently when used in a higher voltage application. Most of these chips are used specifically for core i7 builds because they respond better to a low voltage, and may act strange at higher voltages. The inverse is also true, non JEDEC stuff intended for things other than Core i7 may behave differently/not work on Core i7.
__________________
Nick Soutouras
Account Manager
Mushkin Enhanced.
nick@mushkin.com
Office - 800.569.1868 Ex: 103
317 Inverness Way S.
Suite 130
Englewood, CO 80112
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 16, 2009, 06:21 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 22
Default

Sorry - I fixed the links.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 17, 2009, 08:22 AM
Manufacturer Rep
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 58
Default

I would suggest going with the 2x2 DDR3-1600 over the i7 stuff. I'm not sure what chips they are using on those, but I imagine you will have better luck with the 2x2.

Be aware some people are having issues running DDR3-1600 on the AM3 platform. It seems to be a person-to-person issue, but running your memory in the outer slots tends to help. :)
__________________
Nick Soutouras
Account Manager
Mushkin Enhanced.
nick@mushkin.com
Office - 800.569.1868 Ex: 103
317 Inverness Way S.
Suite 130
Englewood, CO 80112

Last edited by MushkinNick; June 17, 2009 at 08:23 AM. Reason: I r gud at teh grammar!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 17, 2009, 08:52 AM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,683

My System Specs

Default

AM3 does not support Triple Channel memory. Only dual channel works.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 17, 2009, 10:01 AM
Cranky's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Windsor Ontario
Posts: 149
Default

A few reviews to read:

1

2

3
__________________
Asus P5K Deluxe / Intel Core2Quad Q9550@8x425@3400mhz(1.225v) / Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro / 4Gigs DDR2 1066mhz(5-5-5-15) Corsair Dominator / Diamond HD4870x2 / Asus Xonar / WD Raptor 74gb / Hitachi 160GB / Antec Quattro 850w / Logitech Z-680 5.1 / Dell Ultrasharp 24" / 2 LG Optical Drives / Vista Ultimate 32bit / A tower that's been drilled, cut, and bent to fit all of my fans
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 18, 2009, 08:10 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 22
Default

Well that settles that.
Thank you all for letting me know.

All the AM3 boards i looked at did not say - "btw only dual here no tri chan stuff"
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
G.Skill 6GB PC3-12800 Triple Channel DDR3 Kit Review MAC RAM 13 June 13, 2009 03:31 AM
They're here! Tri Channel Mushkin Redlines! encorp RAM 24 April 2, 2009 09:02 PM
Dual Channel DDR3 Vs Triple Channel DDR3 mo_bettah RAM 2 December 16, 2008 07:43 AM
Tri Channel Mushkin Set's? encorp RAM 28 December 15, 2008 09:53 AM
4GB Dual Channel or 8GB Single Channel Mr. Gruntsworthy RAM 26 October 14, 2008 12:14 PM