Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2007, 07:43 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

There is a trick to get all four GB to work, but there is some performance trade-off- not sure how much:
1) Access cmd: Click on the Start Pearl > type cmd in the Search Bar > and press Ctrl + Shift + Enter (this allows you to run cmd in administrative mode)
2) Type BCDEdit /set PAE forceenable
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2007, 03:41 PM
Unklmo's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Mtl, Qc
Posts: 160
Default

thnx. i guess i'll just stick with 2Gb if the general consensus is that anymore than 2 isn't even seen. i do however have another question. i'm looking at some ram showing 5-5-5-15, and 5-5-5-18.
OCZ Reaper Hpc Edition PC2-8500 2GB 2X1GB DDR2-1066 CL5-5-5-15 240PIN DIMM Dual Channel Memory Kit - DirectCanada
OCZ Reaper Hpc Edition PC2-9200 2GB 2X1GB DDR2-1150 CL5-5-5-18 240PIN DIMM Dual Channel Memory Kit - DirectCanada
in layman's terms, could somebody explain the diff between 15 & 18 to me.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2007, 07:26 AM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

The difference between those mems is not tras, it is the binning, pc8500 vs. pc9200. tras = 15 vs. 18 means nothing really.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2007, 08:24 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Yeah- you could easily buy both of those kits and find that the cheaper one overclocks on a par or possibly even faster than the 1150 binned set, but both will most likely perform at least as advertised and the 1150 binned stuff will probably offer you the higher overclock. You might find that both sets will run at their stock frequencies at 4-4-4-12 timings, but you never know.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2007, 10:14 AM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

There are also other D9GMH kits that clock well for alot less $ than those..
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2007, 01:27 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Yeah- i'd go for the firestix for 119 or the ballistix 8500 for 130
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2007, 07:49 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,582
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Babrbarossa View Post
There is a trick to get all four GB to work, but there is some performance trade-off- not sure how much:
1) Access cmd: Click on the Start Pearl > type cmd in the Search Bar > and press Ctrl + Shift + Enter (this allows you to run cmd in administrative mode)
2) Type BCDEdit /set PAE forceenable
This does not always work.

You have to remember only a 64bit OS will full utilize 4gb or more of memory and a 32bit OS will only use 2.5-3.2gb of memory out of the 4gb due to hardware addressing and such.

For now most people don't need 4gb and 2gb will suffice.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes