Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2009, 09:43 AM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

I'm running the CPU at stock speeds right now.
I just got it and haven't OCd before so I want to wait a while.

The motherboard is Gigabyte EX58-UD3R...
NCIX.com - Buy Gigabyte EX58-UD3R-SLI ATX LGA1366 X58 DDR3 2PCI-E SATA2 RAID Sound GBLAN CrossFireX SLI Motherboard - GA-EX58-UD3R-SLI In Canada.

Ram is Corsair XMS3 3x2GB DDR3 1333 (9.9.9.24)
NCIX.com - Buy Corsair XMS3 TR3X6G1333C9 6GB DDR3 3X2GB DDR3-1333 CL 9-9-9-24 Core i7 Memory Kit - TR3X6G1333C9 In Canada.


Quote:
Originally Posted by somecanadianguy View Post
I set everything and it seems to be ok.
Idle temp is about 1 degree higher.

Cpu-z shows...

NB Frequency: 2664 - 2665 MHz
DRAM Frequency: 666.2 MHz
FSB DRAM: 2:10
CL: 9.0
tRCD: 9
tRP: 9
tRAS: 24

I see that only the CL has the decimal showing.
When I entered the other numbers it asked me to enter a decimal value.
I just put 9 and 24 not 9.0 and 24.0... does it matter?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2009, 09:47 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,790

My System Specs

Default

All of what I posted isn't JUST for OC'ing purposes, its so you understand what you're doing when adjusting your RAM to "anything" but default...

As for Gigabyte Board..hhhmmm...they must have a Support Forum similar to Evga....
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2009, 09:52 AM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

I'm in the process of learning...
It takes time though ( I just got this pc together a few days ago and have never OCd before ),
and I find that asking questions to clarify what I've read can be helpful.
Thanks for your replies.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2009, 09:58 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,790

My System Specs

Default

No worries...thier is all inds of "help" available here with oodles of knowledge at your finger-tips.....
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2009, 10:10 AM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

oodles...


**edit**
I figured out that only the CL is supposed to show the decimal.
I'll be trying memtest out later, but it seems to be running good.


Last edited by somecanadianguy; April 6, 2009 at 01:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2009, 07:16 AM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

I ran memtest86+ and it finished 2 passes without problems.
Don't seem to be having problems doing other things either.
Does that mean I'm pretty much safe?
All I did really was change the memory multiplier and timings to match the RAM specs.
I'm trying to figure out whether or not I have to change anything else... don't want to fry my system in a week.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old April 23, 2009, 10:25 AM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

If anyone is interested I got a response from a gigabyte tech guy on another fourm...


////////////////////////////////////

To get your RAM running @ 1333Mhz >>>

Advanced CPU Features:
CPU Clock Ratio ................................ [20x]
Intel(R) Turbo Boost Tech .................. [Enabled]
CPU Cores Enabled ............................ [All]
CPU Multi Threading .......................... [Enabled]
CPU Enhanced Halt (C1E) ................... [Disabled]
C3/C6/C7 State Support .................... [Disabled]
CPU Thermal Monitor ......................... [Enabled]
CPU EIST Function ............................ [Disabled]
Virtualization Technology ................... [Enabled] << Disable if you do not use Vmware or Virtual PC programs
Bi-Directional PROCHOT ..................... [Enabled]


Uncore & QPI Features:
QPI Link Speed .............................. x36
Uncore Frequency .......................... 20-21 (Always 2x memory Multi or 2x +1)
Isonchronous Frequency ..................[Enabled]


Standard Clock Control:
Base Clock (BCLK) Control ................ [Enabled]
BCLK Frequency (MHz) .....................133
PCI Express Frequency (MHz) ........... [100]

C.I.A.2 [Disabled]

Advanced Clock Control:
CPU Clock Drive ..............................[800mV]
PCI Express Clock Drive ................... [900mV]
CPU Clock Skew ............................. [0ps]
IOH Clock Skew ............................. [0ps]


Advanced DRAM Features:
Performance Enhance ...................... [Standard]
Extreme Memory Profile (X.M.P) ......... [Disabled]
System Memory Multiplier (SPD) ........ [10.0] = 1333Mhz
DRAM Timing Selectable (SPD) .......... [Manual]

Channel A + B + C

Channel A Timing Settings:
##Channel A Standard Timing Control##
CAS Latency Time ......................9
tRCD .......................................9
tRP .........................................9
tRAS .......................................24

I will leave most of these on Auto for now, not the best for performance, but you can work on them after you get going

##Channel A Advanced Timing Control##
tRC ........................................ Auto (Should be = tRAS + tRP or above for stability)
tRRD .......................................Auto
tWTR ......................................Auto
tWR ........................................ Auto
tWTP .......................................Auto
tWL ........................................ Auto (tWTP Must = tWR + tWL + 4)
tRFC .......................................68-82 << Start with a higher value here
tRTP .......................................Auto
tFAW ......................................Auto
Command Rate (CMD) ................1

##Channel A Misc Timing Control##
Round Trip Latency ...................Auto



Advanced Voltage Control:

CPU
Load Line Calibration ................. [Disabled]
CPU Vcore ............................... Auto for no overclock
QPI/VTT Voltage 1.150v ............ << This is a tricky setting, all depends on your Memory multi used, QPI Speed, Uncore speed, and what YOUR CPU need to run stable. I suggest try setting to 1.2-1.3 and then either work your way down if it boots with 1.3, or up if not

CPU PLL 1.800v ....................... Auto for no overclock

MCH/ICH
PCIE 1.500v ........................... 1.54
QPI PLL 1.100v .......................1.1-1.24 (1.1 will be fine with no overclock)
IOH Core 1.100v .....................1.14-1.24
ICH I/O 1.500v .......................1.5
ICH Core 1.1v ........................1.14-1.2

DRAM
DRAM Voltage 1.500v .............. 1.64-1.66
DRAM Termination 0.750v [AUTO]
Ch-A Data VRef. 0.750v [AUTO]
Ch-B Data VRef. 0.750v [AUTO]
Ch-C Data VRef. 0.750v [AUTO]
Ch-A Address VRef. 0.750v [AUTO]
Ch-B Address VRef. 0.750v [AUTO]
Ch-C Address VRef. 0.750v [AUTO]

//////////////////////////////////////////

I haven't tested this yet... does it all look safe?
The info came from a gigabyte tech but that doesn't mean he's right.
I've read about DRAM voltage and a lot of people say 1.65v is max... would I really want to set it to 1.66v? It's not much more, I know, but would it have any effect on the life of my ram... or motherboard over time? The specs on the RAM are 1333 @ 9-9-9-24 so I'm guessing that it should be ok with the settings above, but I'm just not sure. i'm also wondering how much my temps will increase if I do this? I'd like to know what to expect so I don't panic when I see it rise a little.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
no display from P5KC w DDR3 1333 the_bandit87 Troubleshooting 3 February 13, 2009 01:20 PM
[FS] FS: 2 kits of 4GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1333 - $350 Spaceman-Spiff Buy/Sell & Trade 4 November 20, 2008 03:21 PM
WTS: 2x1GB Patriot DDR3 1333 CL7 Eldonko Buy/Sell & Trade 18 November 3, 2008 01:33 PM
OCZ releases CL7 ddr3 1333 Babrbarossa Press Releases & Tech News 0 June 21, 2007 05:20 AM
New GSkill DDR3 1333 kits avaiable Babrbarossa Press Releases & Tech News 0 June 19, 2007 08:18 AM