Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2009, 03:11 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hartford,CT
Posts: 18
Default Help me pick some ram

I want to upgrade to 8gb of DDR2 on my P5Q Deluxe. My board dosen't like 2 kits of the ram that I'm currently running.

I can't choose between these two kits.

G.Skill 900mhz 4-4-4-12

G.Skill 1066mhz 5-5-5-15

The price is about the same and the bandwith results should be about the same. Which kit should I pick? Any other suggestions are more than welcome, thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2009, 03:45 PM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

What do you currently have in your system? Because in all honesty mixing ram isn't the best idea, it'll work in most cases but it's best to keep to the same kind.
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2009, 03:57 PM
Manufacturer Rep
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 58
Default

Also remember that running 8GB of 1066 can be a huge pain on some boards.
__________________
Nick Soutouras
Account Manager
Mushkin Enhanced.
nick@mushkin.com
Office - 800.569.1868 Ex: 103
317 Inverness Way S.
Suite 130
Englewood, CO 80112
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2009, 04:01 PM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

Oh I just re read the first post.

Do you already have 8gb in it? (You said two kits)

Or do you plan to keep one and add another?

Also; Nick is correct - except where he says some, I'll say "most" :)

A lot of the time it's too much for the mobo even though they say they can run it.
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2009, 04:08 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,105

My System Specs

Default

your links are in USD

if there are the same price, i go for the higher speed one

But those black ones look it can kick some ass

And yea what system specs
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2009, 04:18 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hartford,CT
Posts: 18
Default

I have a set of 1066 reapers. The new kits aren't binned the same, looser timings at 2.2v. I'm just going to sell off the kit that Im currently running. My board did not like running 2 kits of this ram. It didn't really like the single kit of the newer version.

I will be putting this in a P5Q Deluxe. Its a little picky with ram but should run 8gb at ~1078 with my Q9650 at 450x9.

What would put more stress on the northbridge cas4 or a higher clock speed?

I can't really see having my chip run at much more than a 475fsb any time soon, so the 4-4-4-12 kit should run fine.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2009, 07:22 PM
Realityshift's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 2,486
Default

running your ram @ 950 mhz at cl 4 timings is pretty hard on ram and motherboard, you should try loosening the timings a bit especially when running 8gb.
__________________
The Builders Hammer
Asrock P67 Fatal1ty, Intel i5 2500K @ 5.1ghz, 16gb HyperX 1600 CL8, Evga GTX 580 SC SLIed and water-cooled, HX850, Crucial M4 64gb, 640 black, 1tb + 3x 2tb greens, Haf X.


BF BC2: Bishop_SHIFT, Steam: Realityshift84, Xbox Live - SHIFTEDone84 ... Come play.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2009, 08:41 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 268
Default

1:1 is the worst ratio for performance on the P5Qs, so i'd look at the DDR2-1066 kit.

That said, i've not had very good success getting my 8 GB truely stable @ high speeds on my P5Q-D unfortunately.

450 @ 5:6 ratio is DDR2-1080...may or may not be really stable; you'll have to test...

I can do 8 GB DDR2-1050+ 5-5-5 1.8v stably in Memtest86+, but it's not stable for HCI Memtest or LinX :(...goes to show how useless Memtest86+ is for stresstesting 8 GB.

Of course, if i only run 2x2 GB, then 1100 is doable with the two better DIMMs of the four...

The one nice thing for 1:1 is that the DDR2-900 kit you've linked to will do DDR2-900 4-4-4 (though not much higher till you loosen to CAS 5).

The DDR2-1066 kit will not do DDR2-900 4-4-4 as it's PSC instead of Qimonda like the 900 kit.
__________________
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R | i7 930 | Corsair H50
G.Skill RipJaws 4x2 GB DDR3 | HIS Radeon HD 5870
3x Intel X25-M 80 GB RAID-0; OCZ Agility 120 GB | Samsung SH-S243D
Corsair HX1000 | Dell 3007WFP & Samsung 204T | 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2009, 04:31 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hartford,CT
Posts: 18
Default

I bit on 2 of the 1066 kits. I would love to hit 1080 5-5-5-15 pl8 but like you said that won't be easyThe P5Q is picky with ram too, but I've heard people have good results with this ram on the P5Q D. Hopefully XS is back up when I get these kits, I have a feeling that I'll need some advice.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 5, 2009, 04:23 PM
Retro's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: B.C.
Posts: 129
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BababooeyHTJ View Post
I bit on 2 of the 1066 kits. I would love to hit 1080 5-5-5-15 pl8 but like you said that won't be easyThe P5Q is picky with ram too, but I've heard people have good results with this ram on the P5Q D. Hopefully XS is back up when I get these kits, I have a feeling that I'll need some advice.
"Many hours from complete, enjoy the weekend."
I have one set of the GSkill 1066 in my Pro (4gb), they are good but don't like to overclock much past 1066 at 5-5-5-15 pl 10 in mine. I had similar results when I had the P5Q-D about a year ago, although with a 2gb set of GSkill 1066.

Why 8gb of ram, may I ask? Seems like overkill, unless there is a specific use for all that ram in a pre-i7 system. I would also be leery of running four sticks vs two for stability and overclocking. But you must have reasons for it!
__________________
Latest build:
i5 750@3800MHz 20x190@1.38125v
Noctua NH-U12P/NF-P12
4G GSkill DDR3 2000 Ripjaws
Asus P7P55D-Pro
2x EVGA GTX275 in SLI
PC P&C 750 Silencer
Cuda 500
Antec 902
W7 64 RTM
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What lcd to pick? upcoast604 Display Units 4 March 11, 2009 03:39 PM
Looking to Pick up a Blu-Ray for my TV PC norfolk HTPC Systems & Software 9 November 18, 2008 12:20 PM
Help me pick parts! encorp Water Cooling 12 September 15, 2008 11:56 PM
If you had to pick a new socket 775 MB, which would you go for? Galaad97 CPU's and Motherboards 8 April 8, 2008 11:06 AM
Pick Up my order? Epsillon Off Topic 1 December 29, 2007 03:32 PM