Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old February 28, 2009, 01:17 PM
Rookie

Default Memory upgrade - What to choose ?

Hello everyone,

I'm shopping for parts to upgrade my system (see below for specs). The last thing I need now is the RAM.

According to the emachines site, it says the following :
Memory: 1024MB DDR2 (2 512MB), 533MHz (PC4200)
Expandable to 2GB

This is were things start to become is little weird.

I had doubts about it and I wanted to confirm the info before buying the new parts; using CPU-Z, I've found the following info :
slot #1 : PC2-3200 (200mhz) DDR2 - 512MBytes Maker : Infineon
slot #2 : PC2-4300 (266mhz) DDR2 - 512MBytes Maker : SpecTek

Now I'm puzzled; to say the least....

First question : What to think about this ? I have this system for 2 years now and no problems ever occured during this period.
Second question : I have no experience at all regarding RAM questions and I want to know what would be the best choice for an upgrade to 2GB (1 strip ? 2 strips ?). My budget : about 50$-60$Canadian (or lower if possible).

Thanks for the help !

Desktop : Emachines T5212-T5048 hybrid Pentium D (805) 2.67Mhz Smithfield
1 GB RAM DDR2 Video card ATI Radeon X550 128MB (going out...)
PSU : 300W (going out)
Hard drive : 160 GB - Windows XP Media Center
Going in: PSU - Corsair CX400W Power Supply - 400-Watt
GPU - HIS Radeon HD 4650 512MB 128-bit DDR2 PCI Express 2.0 x16
Old March 1, 2009, 05:57 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

1. I've run mismatched RAM on a computer for 1 year (almost 24/7) without problems. What really puzzles me is why you say your RAM is PC2-4200 while one of your sticks is labelled slower. Since you have CPU-Z, look under the "Memory" tab and read me the numbers there. I'm willing to bet that you're not even running at the advertised 266 Mhz because of the slow stick.