Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 25, 2009, 07:43 PM
artistpavel's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 579

My System Specs

Default Looking for 16GB OCZ2VU80016GQ

Hi, I'm currently having 8GB OCZ memory installed on Asus P5Q, but I'm looking for 16GB, to work with huge files in Photoshop 64-bit. Also since DDR2 is obsolete, I just wanted to max out my motherboard, knowing that I wouldn't have to upgrade anymore, unless I build a new rig.

Now almost every place in Canada had 0 of them in stock for months, has anyone seen them ever being available?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 25, 2009, 09:07 PM
Oversized Rooster's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 609

My System Specs

Default

Just buy two 8GB kits instead (4 x 4GB). The 8GB version of the kit you want is in stock at MemoryHouse:

Buy OCZ Vista Upgrade XTC PC2-6400 8GB 2X4GB DDR2-800 CL5-6-6-18 DDR2 240PIN Dual Channel Memory Kit
__________________
Main: Intel 2600K @ 4.8GHz | Gigabyte P67A-UD7-B3 | 16GB Corsair DDR3-2000 | 2 x 240GB Corsair Force 3 in RAID1 | 2 x 4TB Hitachi 7K4000 | 3 x 2TB WD Caviar Black | Antec 1200 | Seasonic XP-860 Platinum | 2GB GTX 670 | 2 x 27" Asus VE278Q | Asus Essence ST | Win7 Pro 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2009, 09:36 AM
artistpavel's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 579

My System Specs

Default

Thanks, I heard a theory, that 4 stick kits are tested to work together, and buying 2 and 2 is not recommended, is that a marketing BS?

Update: Never mind, I just placed an order through memoryhouse, after I've talked to OCZ rep.

If anyone interested in 2 pre-owned 2x2GB sets (8GB), for $50, let me know, I'm based in Toronto (sold):

OCZ Technology | Products | Memory | OCZ DDR2 PC2-6400 SLI-Ready Edition 4GB Dual Channel

Last edited by artistpavel; March 5, 2009 at 01:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2009, 11:36 AM
artistpavel's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 579

My System Specs

Default

MemoryHouse.com does not have memory in stock, based on their order tracking page, their phones go straight to voicemail, the voicemail box doesn't accept messages.

Update: I just received and email reply, saying, the manufacturer has discontinued this ram. Refund issued.

There's one place that has them in stock for a $100 more, I feel like I should grab them before the economy makes 4GB dimms DDR2 unavailable at all. What's your prediction?

Last edited by artistpavel; February 27, 2009 at 12:35 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2009, 12:12 PM
artistpavel's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 579

My System Specs

Default

Finally I got my hands on OCZ2VU80016GQ, the only place that had this item in stock was Extreme-PC based in Guelph ON, they have 3 units left:

Extreme PC

-run memtest86+, no errors
-my FSB is 333, so I set the 1:1 ratio (?)
-tried running with default 32GB swap, 2GB, no swap, without noticing any difference in performance, need advice.



Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OCZ Unveils 8GB & 16GB Memory Kits for P45 Motherboards MAC Press Releases & Tech News 10 August 10, 2008 02:18 AM