Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2009, 05:03 PM
norfolk's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: N1R-1C8
Posts: 432

My System Specs

Default Has Anyone Tried Ready Boost?

I was just wondering if any of the people here tried Readyboost yet.I was in need of a new jump drive so I grabbed a 4giger that was able to run in this environment and I really noticed a difference.Hmm who woulda thunked it! I"m actually considering another 4 giger.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2009, 05:06 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Considering your running 4gb of ram.. you'll see absolutely NO benefit at all.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2009, 05:13 PM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,527

My System Specs

Default

I've run it a few times and found no benefit whatsoever as well. readyboost is meant more for low ram situatuons of under 1GB and mostly for laptops as well.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2009, 06:03 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,104

My System Specs

Default

It is pretty useless unless running with very little ram like already stated. Even with 2GB of ram and a 4GB Readyboost drive, I didn't notice anything.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2009, 06:16 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,230

My System Specs

Default

I use ReadyBoost on my laptop (running ~3.5 GB RAM on Vista 32 bit). The Readyboost runs off a Sandisk Extreme III 2 GB SD card, but I only use 512MB of it for Readyboost because I find that system startup time is DRASTICALLY affected as the HDD thrashes to fill up the readyboost.sfcache file on the card. I notice that it reduces startup time for programs that work with lots of small files (Eclipse, Visual Studio). My laptop has a decently speedy mobile CPU (T7500) but its hard drive is an older 160GB 5400RPM drive.

I haven't experimented extensively on my desktop, but from what I've witnessed so far, 4 GB of ReadyBoost cache does nothing to it. Moving my page file and user documents over to a separate hard drive made a much bigger improvement than the Readyboost did.

Before you go ReadyBoost crazy, remember than it only supports up to 4 GB of flash cache. For example, my 8GB USB stick can only dedicate 4GB to ReadyBoost. You may also want to try a smaller (<1GB) ReadyBoost and see if that has the same effect.
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2009, 07:08 PM
Cranky's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Windsor Ontario
Posts: 149
Default

I ran readyboost, and experience no discernible difference between running, and not running, mind you, I am running with 4 gigs. You're suppose to notice a difference with low amounts of ram but with memory so cheap now a days why would you run minimum memory specs?
__________________
Asus P5K Deluxe / Intel Core2Quad Q9550@8x425@3400mhz(1.225v) / Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro / 4Gigs DDR2 1066mhz(5-5-5-15) Corsair Dominator / Diamond HD4870x2 / Asus Xonar / WD Raptor 74gb / Hitachi 160GB / Antec Quattro 850w / Logitech Z-680 5.1 / Dell Ultrasharp 24" / 2 LG Optical Drives / Vista Ultimate 32bit / A tower that's been drilled, cut, and bent to fit all of my fans
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will enabling AHCI boost performance? Matt Storage 17 February 20, 2010 07:22 PM
DFI Presents Auto Boost System (ABS) Technology MAC Press Releases & Tech News 8 June 14, 2008 08:15 AM
NVIDIA APX 2500 to give Windows Mobile a boost Hardware Canucks Press Releases & Tech News 0 May 8, 2008 11:23 AM
I wonder if this works with Ready Boost... Cardboard box with DSL O/S's, Drivers & General Software 5 July 1, 2007 02:11 AM
SuperTalent Ready Boost drive Scratch Press Releases & Tech News 0 June 11, 2007 02:16 PM