Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2009, 08:57 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 305
Default Info on memory sticks.. v2.1??

I was tinker around the computer today (cleaning/memtest) and I notcied that on the side of my memory there is a little info that is intreeging to me....


First the volts..... on the side of the stick it reads "v2.1", my memory is not anywhere near that ... think its at 1.8v in the bios. Whats with the 2.1volts on the side of the chip??? Max volts???


Secondly..... the timming on the stick states.... 4-4-4-12. I believe in my bios its running at 5-5-5-18 (i think0.....

just currious as to wether I need to change the specs to match the info on the sticks.....




thanks.....
__________________
i2600k sandy bridge @ 3.4ghz/ 2x 8800 GTX KO ACS3 PCI-E 630MHZ 768MB 2.0GHZ SLI'd / Raptor 74GB / Antec 1200 Hundred Gaming Case / G.Skill Ripjaws ddr3 1600 cl 8-8-8-24 - 8gigs / evga z68 SLI MOBO / Samsung DVD+RW / Corsair ax850 PSU / 24" Samsung CinkMaster

Cooling:
Swiftech Dual rad
Swiftech Single rad
Swiftech Micro Res
Swiftech Apogee GT Cpu block
Feser One Red Fluid
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2009, 09:02 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,493

My System Specs

Default

If I had to guess it'd be that it's "vers. 2.1" not 2.1 Volts.

As far as the timing goes.... most memory sets have looser timings set as default in order to ensure that they boot on initial post. You'll have to manually set timings and voltages in bios.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2009, 09:12 AM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,401

My System Specs

Default

Sounds like the 2.1 is for volts to me, as it seems to be PC 6400 that you have (DDR2 800), and many sticks run at that voltage. He will probably have to crank it up to 2.1 or close to get the timings you listed.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2009, 09:19 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

What Chris said. The JDEC standard for ddr2 is 1.8v but memory like Frosty's needs 2.1v to run at advertised timings.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2009, 09:20 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,493

My System Specs

Default

Is your memory 2X1G sticks or 2X2G sticks? (Some confusion WRT the part#)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2009, 09:21 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,493

My System Specs

Default

If it's these ones....

http://www.corsair.com/_datasheets/T...048-6400C4.pdf

They need 2.1V to run the tighter timings
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2009, 09:23 AM
3oh6's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,052
Default

it is NOT 2.1 volts. it is Corsair memory, and the v2.1 stands for version 2.1 as sswilson said. this isn't a 'probably' or 'most likely', this is fact. Corsairs changes the revision every time they change the ICs. to find out what the rated frequency/timings/voltage are for the kit, go to Corsair.com and look up the model number. they may in fact be rated for 2.1v but that isn't what the v2.1 stands for.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2009, 09:23 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 305
Default

LOL.... i was just reading that info on there website.... should have went there first....


thanks......
__________________
i2600k sandy bridge @ 3.4ghz/ 2x 8800 GTX KO ACS3 PCI-E 630MHZ 768MB 2.0GHZ SLI'd / Raptor 74GB / Antec 1200 Hundred Gaming Case / G.Skill Ripjaws ddr3 1600 cl 8-8-8-24 - 8gigs / evga z68 SLI MOBO / Samsung DVD+RW / Corsair ax850 PSU / 24" Samsung CinkMaster

Cooling:
Swiftech Dual rad
Swiftech Single rad
Swiftech Micro Res
Swiftech Apogee GT Cpu block
Feser One Red Fluid
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2009, 09:29 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3oh6 View Post
it is NOT 2.1 volts. it is Corsair memory, and the v2.1 stands for version 2.1 as sswilson said. this isn't a 'probably' or 'most likely', this is fact. Corsairs changes the revision every time they change the ICs. to find out what the rated frequency/timings/voltage are for the kit, go to Corsair.com and look up the model number. they may in fact be rated for 2.1v but that isn't what the v2.1 stands for.
They are in fact rated at 2.1volts. I looked this up prior to posting.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2009, 09:32 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,493

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squeetard View Post
They are in fact rated at 2.1volts. I looked this up prior to posting.
Yep, but we wouldn't want somebody to read this thread in a few months when they're up to v2.6 and think that they should be setting that in bios....

edit: With that in mind..... maybe corsair should consider changing their naming convention to "ver 2.1" or something similar to remove any doubt. :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8500 sticks? 3.0charlie RAM 15 February 3, 2008 10:48 AM
My new sticks! Prof. Dr. Silver RAM 22 January 8, 2008 05:34 PM
Mushkin's new 2B sticks of ddr2 Babrbarossa Press Releases & Tech News 4 October 24, 2007 07:50 PM
Which of these sticks of ram should I buy? Song RAM 2 September 1, 2007 09:53 PM