Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 6, 2009, 10:08 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8
Default 8gb@1066mhz on GA-P35-D3SL

I have a GA-P35-D3SL running an OC'd Q6600. I have been using 4x1gb of the Crucial Ballistix since last xmas (so a year and a bit) and even after "fixing" the problems with the P35 chipset (a few RMAs later), I have been having nothing but problems. I just had *another* stick die, and it looks like the others are on the way out. This will have been the 3rd or 4th set.

Needless to say, I'm looking to replace.

I do a lot of GIS and HPC work where 8gb would be fantastic to have.

Has anyone been running 8gb (4x2gb) @ 1066 on this board? I'm thinking of either picking up some Redlines or the XPs, although I worry that the XP's heatsink won't allow for running fully populated DIMMS (any comments?).
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2009, 12:34 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8
Default

Well, we're going to find out. Just ordered 2 kits of NCIX.com - Canada's Premier Computer Store - Great Technology, Service and Selection.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2009, 08:17 PM
Jackquelegs's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 2,591

My System Specs

Default

Let alone my X38 cannot handle a uber overclocked FSB with high speed RAM at decent NB voltages.

P35 will have trouble with 4x2gb sticks already, and it will have more trouble with higher speeds. It should work, but be sure to boost the NB voltage by a good amount.
__________________
Iapetos
Intel Core i7 930 D0 4.2ghz, Corsair XMS3 6X2GB DDR3-1600 CL 8-8-8-24, Xfire HD5870, Intel X-25M 34nm 80gb, Enermax Revolution85+ 1050W, Xonar D2X

Zephyranthes
E8400 4.0ghz, XFX 780i, Mushkin XP2 PC-6400, Antec Earthwatts 750W

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 25, 2009, 10:09 PM
Oversized Rooster's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 610

My System Specs

Default

I am successfully running 4 x 2GB OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2-1066 RAM on an Asus P5Q-E.

I am running them at DDR2-1080 at 2.15V no prob. I can no longer achieve the same previous DDR2-1144 overclock without giving them 2.2V but even that IS still possible with a little more voltage.
__________________
Main: Intel 2600K @ 4.8GHz | Gigabyte P67A-UD7-B3 | 16GB Corsair DDR3-2000 | 2 x 256GB Samsung 850 Pro | 2 x 4TB Hitachi 7K4000 | 3 x 2TB WD Caviar Black | Antec 1200 | Seasonic XP-860 Platinum | 4GB GTX 970 Windforce | 2 x 27" Asus VE278Q | Asus Essence ST | Win7 Pro 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2009, 08:49 AM
DorkSterr's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 25
Default

I'm running my (4X 2GB) Corsair Dominator DDR2-1066MHz @ 1128MHz (2.20V) with no problems.
__________________
i7 980X @ 4510.5MHz | Rampage III Extreme | Dominator GT 2037MHz 7-8-7-20 C7* | ASUS 6970 945MHz/1460MHz | 2X Vertex 3 120GB RAID 0* (OS) | Corsair AX1200 | Obsidian 800D
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
is it true that the i7 can only accept speeds up to 1066mhz? squilliam RAM 1 December 17, 2008 01:58 PM
WTB: GA P35 D3SL *and* 8800GT rc11 Buy/Sell & Trade 1 July 23, 2008 12:50 PM
Confused 800mhz vs 1066mhz icodeit RAM 10 January 28, 2008 12:40 PM