Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2008, 08:37 PM
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: toronto
Posts: 393
Default i think we need a sticky on the topic of.....

After reading through a few threads and even making 2 of my own, I think someone should make a sticky on the topic of mixing ram, what would go wrong, what might just work and also put a disclaimer to not sue anyone on HWC and anything you do is up to readers' discretion....now.....who will make it?! haha
CPU:Intel i5 6600k - Corsair H110
GPU:2-Way SLI EVGA 560
HDD:250GB Samsung Evo 850 SSD, 3TB WD Black
MOBO:Asus Z-170 Deluxe
RAM:G.Skill Ripjaws V F4 2800mhz 16GB
PSU:Silverstone 950W
CASE:Silvertstone TJ07
Keyboard:Logitech G15 V2
Mouse:Razer DeathAdder
Case Cooling:2x92mm exhaust,2x120mm exhaust, 2x120mm Ultra Kaze(3000RPM)intake.
Running:Win7 64-bit Ultimate
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2008, 03:22 AM
Jackquelegs's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 2,591

My System Specs


I guess the main point is, same RAM chips = okay
Mixing ram chips = bad
Same density = okay
Mixing density = bad.

Intel Core i7 930 D0 4.2ghz, Corsair XMS3 6X2GB DDR3-1600 CL 8-8-8-24, Xfire HD5870, Intel X-25M 34nm 80gb, Enermax Revolution85+ 1050W, Xonar D2X

E8400 4.0ghz, XFX 780i, Mushkin XP2 PC-6400, Antec Earthwatts 750W

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 28, 2008, 09:42 AM
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 268

I mix RAM all the time for customer upgrades, not to mention i've done it myself on my own systems.

It's most definitely not the most ideal, but if it's far from impossible to do.

It won't always work, & Memtesting is imperative.

But it's really not as bad as you are making it sound.

It's more of a knowledge thing really, & being aware that there may be complications (part of the risk when mixing), & knowing how to deal with them.

If you like just installing RAM & leaving settings at auto on your overclocking board, you're in trouble; don't do it.

But if you know how to mess around, it's usually very doable, provided you at least get stuff with similar voltage requirements, etc.
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R | i7 930 | Corsair H50
G.Skill RipJaws 4x2 GB DDR3 | HIS Radeon HD 5870
3x Intel X25-M 80 GB RAID-0; OCZ Agility 120 GB | Samsung SH-S243D
Corsair HX1000 | Dell 3007WFP & Samsung 204T | 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
There is already a topic about RedAlert 3 but... Skyllz Gaming 5 November 4, 2008 08:20 AM
Off Topic...i dunno RCKage Off Topic 5 March 13, 2008 07:42 PM
Watercooling Guide Sticky BALISTX Water Cooling 1 October 10, 2007 10:00 PM